Y : The Last Man

Support for Windows 10 users and the Microsoft Store package
Post Reply
CDWriter
Posts: 2
Joined: 13 Sep 2021, 17:24

Y : The Last Man

Post by CDWriter »

Some of the new shows coming out have strange characters in there name i general example :

Y : The Last Man

Image

when filebot sees it the : is not a good character so it trys to remove it but it does not see it as a error because thats the name of the orginal TV show and removes all the spaces between..

Image

is there any way to correct this or have the code see these Invalid Characters?

thanks

CDWriter
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 20177
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59

Re: New TV shows

Post by rednoah »

What's your custom format?
https://www.filebot.net/naming.html


:idea: Windows does not allow : colon in file names or file paths.


:?: Does clicking Validate not remove : colon from the proposed file name?




EDIT:

FileBot likely does not strip the : colon from the destination file path here, since Y:/{n} {sxe} {t} would be a perfectly reasonable destination format, and this series name accidentally produces absolute file paths.

:arrow: Use the {plex} format or take care of : colon in your custom format. Use {kodi.name} if you want a naming scheme similar to the one seen in your screenshot.



EDIT 2:

Note that I cannot reproduce the issue shown in the screenshot. Please provide file paths as text for testing.


The Y: does seem to mess with the destination folder here, but validation itself seem to work in my test case:
Image



EDIT 3:

I was able to reproduce the issue with the default episode format, that is only used if you've never configured a custom format. You can fix the issue by configuring a custom format that preemptively fixes colons in files paths, such as the {plex} format and it's friends:

Code: Select all

{kodi.name}
:arrow: You can configure your own custom format via Double-Click <New Names Item> ➔ Edit Format.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
CDWriter
Posts: 2
Joined: 13 Sep 2021, 17:24

Re: Y : The Last Man

Post by CDWriter »

Thanks after playing with it and your help @rednoah i figured it out , this helped a lot thanks

I changed the format to {kodi.name} .
oldmaninfl
Posts: 1
Joined: 20 Sep 2021, 17:22

Re: Y : The Last Man

Post by oldmaninfl »

After MATCH, this is what is displayed: C:\__Data\__video\__incoming\Y: The Last Man_s01e04 Karen and Benji
The file is saved into c:\__data\__video folder
Last edited by oldmaninfl on 20 Sep 2021, 17:32, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 20177
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59

Re: Y : The Last Man

Post by rednoah »

Relative file paths that start with Y: cause strange behavior on Windows, because Windows interprets them as absolute. Please adjust your format to preemptively replace : colon characters.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
nicholsml
Posts: 3
Joined: 27 Sep 2021, 07:50

Re: Y : The Last Man

Post by nicholsml »

I'm having this exact problem. When I hit rename, then validate to fix the name, it literally picks a random hard drive and cuts and pastes the file to the root of that drive.

Also animal kingdom. Whenever filebot searches for that TV show even though it literally starts with "animal kingdom"... forces you to scroll through about 40 other titles and sometimes does not match it with animal kingdom.
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 20177
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59

Re: Y : The Last Man

Post by rednoah »

nicholsml wrote: 27 Sep 2021, 07:54 I'm having this exact problem. When I hit rename, then validate to fix the name, it literally picks a random hard drive and cuts and pastes the file to the root of that drive.
Please use {kodi.name} or {plex.name} as custom format to make sure you're not accidentally generating absolute paths for random drive letters.

nicholsml wrote: 27 Sep 2021, 07:54 Also animal kingdom. Whenever filebot searches for that TV show even though it literally starts with "animal kingdom"... forces you to scroll through about 40 other titles and sometimes does not match it with animal kingdom.
Not sure. Depending on the exact use case at hand, there might be smart ways to go about it. Please create a dedicated thread and make sure to include file paths to reproduce the problem and screenshots to illustrate the problem. Please read How to Request Help for details.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
Post Reply