Edit name but keep extensions

Support for Windows users
redoXiD

Edit name but keep extensions

Post by redoXiD »

Hi there,

I am very new to FileBot and ran into a very annoying problem during my first renaming session.

Part of the problem is that I use German titles, as FileBot/TMDB sometimes doesn't rename the movies accordingly, but in theory this isn't a big problem, as you can rename the file manually. However, this is where the real problem starts: When I rename a file to the German title, FileBot automatically applies the new name to all files in the folder and overwrites the extensions of subtitles (e.g. .ger.forced), so you have to rename the subtitles manually afterwards, which is very time-consuming.

Here are two images for visualization:

English title
becomes

Is there any way to fix this problem so that FileBot applies the new name to all files but keeps the extensions? I already tried different naming schemes like {plex} but no luck so far.

Here is my current format preset:

Code: Select all

{n.colon(' - ')} ({y}) - {vf}{' CD'+pi}{any{subt}{f.subtitle ? fn =~ /forced/ ? '.ger.forced' : '.ger' : null}}
(I don't use {plex} or {plex.name} as it is harder to customize, especially subtitle extensions and keeping the folder name)
rednoah
The Source

Re: Edit name but keep extensions

Post by rednoah »

.sub and .idx is the file extension. FileBot will keep that by default. The .ger and .ger.forced is just what the file name ends with, i.e. the subtitle language suffix. Your custom format is responsible for this part. You are using {subt} in your format so it should work.

:?: If it does not work, then you are most likely not using the format that you have posted above. What do you see when you open the Format Editor via Double-Click ➔ Edit Format on a match that doesn't get formatted as expected?

:idea: {subt} works:

$ filebot -mediainfo *.srt --format "{fn} => {subt}"
Avatar.2009.ger.forced => .ger.forced