How is FileBot determining the resolution? Cause its doing it wrong

Support for Windows users
Post Reply
Morgenstern72
Donor
Posts: 44
Joined: 09 May 2014, 18:57

How is FileBot determining the resolution? Cause its doing it wrong

Post by Morgenstern72 »

After many years of relying on Filebots accuracy I just recognized that it handles PAL-DVD-resolution wrong.

If a 576p is only cropped by some pixels, eg to 574 or 572 its recognized as 480p. Which is of course nonsense. It should be
"above 480 and below 577 = 576p", because there is no 480p movie with 5xxp resolution, this must be a cropped 576p.
Even "above 540 and below 577 = 576p" would be ok (while still no correct).

There may be some technical specs that FileBot is sticking too, but they were obviously not made with Handbrake or cropping in mind. Adding black borders to a 570p movie so it's reported 576p may be technical correct, but the source still was a 576p movie, since only the aspect ratio of the source was slightly different (eg theatrical) than a "normal" PAL-DVD would be.

But like it (was and) is now, I have to manually clean up quite some many old beloved movies, that I have in a much better quality then my folder names tell me.
Why at all in the folder/filename? Because whatever database (eg Kodi) I'm using, I love to rely on a simple search in explorer for "480p" or "AC3" to find stuff, that maybe has some better sources. And here i discovered now that I already have some decent quality files, regardless of what FileBot put in the name.

Is there any config I can change so Filebot gets the resolution right?
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22986
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: How is FileBot determining the resolution? Cause its doing it wrong

Post by rednoah »

1.
What's the exact resolution of the file you're talking about?

@see https://github.com/filebot/filebot/blob ... .java#L353


2.
You could use {hpi} which will give you the exact Height/ScanType value, but that'd be less suitable for a folder name.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
Morgenstern72
Donor
Posts: 44
Joined: 09 May 2014, 18:57

Re: How is FileBot determining the resolution? Cause its doing it wrong

Post by Morgenstern72 »

rednoah wrote: 01 Aug 2017, 05:23 What's the exact resolution of the file you're talking about?
748x574
Or any other resolation where the height is smaller than 576 but bigger than 480.
Sorry,I dont understand that :(
rednoah wrote: 01 Aug 2017, 05:23 You could use {hpi} which will give you the exact Height/ScanType value, but that'd be less suitable for a folder name.
Sadly that makes no sense. I need the resolution of an indicator if its a DVD(NTSC or PAL), 720p or 1080p. So i search for 360p pr 480p pr 576p in file explorer to find this old "jewels".

It also works perfectly with all other resolutions.A 1920x1040 (just black bar cropped) is still recognized as a 1080p.
1280x528(!) is still perfectly recognized as 720p
kim
Power User
Posts: 1251
Joined: 15 May 2014, 16:17

Re: How is FileBot determining the resolution? Cause its doing it wrong

Post by kim »

try

Code: Select all

{height<=576 && height>=480 ? '576p' : vf}
kim
Power User
Posts: 1251
Joined: 15 May 2014, 16:17

Re: How is FileBot determining the resolution? Cause its doing it wrong

Post by kim »

I think this is better

Code: Select all

{((dim[0]<=720&&dim[0]>=700)&&video.displayAspectRatio.join('').toBigDecimal() <= 2.6) ? '576p' : vf}
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22986
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: How is FileBot determining the resolution? Cause its doing it wrong

Post by rednoah »

I'll take out the 852x480 step so that should make it give you 576p for a resolution of 748x574.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
Post Reply