filebot-watcher docker: persist open subtitles configuration after container restart

Support for Ubuntu and other Desktop Linux distributions
sabinder62

filebot-watcher docker: persist open subtitles configuration after container restart

Post by sabinder62 »

Hi rednoah,

I have been using the filebot-watcher container for many months and it works perfectly. One thing I cannot figure out is how to get the opensubtitles configuration to persist after I restart the container.

I do this by running the command

Code: Select all

filebot -script fn:configure
in the container and it always confirms success. However I update all my containers and restart them on a bi-weekly basis and have to run the command again every time it starts back up.

Any idea on what I might be doing wrong?
rednoah
The Source

Re: filebot-watcher docker: persist open subtitles configuration after container restart

Post by rednoah »

:arrow: You are most likely not storing application data to a persistent volume.

docker run --rm -it -v $PWD:/volume1 -v data:/data rednoah/filebot:watcher /volume1/input --output /volume1/output
-v data:/data ... mount persistent named volume "data" available inside the container as /data (from inside the container) so that the filebot instance running inside the container can remember things. If something is wrong here, or deleted, then filebot will not be able to remember things.

:?: What bind mount paths are you using when launching the container?

:?: What does the console output say when you run filebot -script fn:configure to write the configuration file? (EDIT: nevermind; we already figured out where preferences are stored; see below)

EDIT:

Those settings are probably written to $HOME/.java/.userPrefs but since $HOME is a variable that depends on what user you're running as, I have no idea where the data is actually stored and if it is indeed stored to /data somewhere. I'll look into adding configuration to the container to make this more explicit.