How to run Filebot via xpra on Synology

Support for Synology NAS, QNAP NAS and other Embedded Linux systems
Post Reply
Smallville131
Posts: 7
Joined: 10 Oct 2018, 23:49

How to run Filebot via xpra on Synology

Post by Smallville131 »

Hi,
I want to run Filebot on my Synology via xpra, but the information on the following page does not explain all the steps well enough for me.

https://github.com/filebot/filebot-docker#readme

I was able to install Filebot-xpra on the server. I think I should install xpra on Windows,
got it from https://github.com/Xpra-org/xpra/blob/m ... stallation .
Do I have to make any changes to the standard settings during container creation? (Never used docker)

But what is next? there was a code :

Code: Select all

docker run --rm -it -v $PWD:/volume1 -v data:/data -p 5454:5454 rednoah/filebot:xpra

Is that important?
I also tried to reach http://localhost:5454/ or instead of localhost I used the server ip too.
I get the error ERR_Connection_Refused

Next I thought I might need xpra on PC:
Xpra executed gives me 4 options: Start, Shadow, Connect, Browse.
When I go to connect and put in the ip/passwordafter the loading nothing happens.
With start in ssh I get the error:

xpra initialization error
connection failed: all SSH remote proxy commands have failed - is xpra installed on the remote host?

With tcp nothing happens after the loading screen.

I don't know what i should do. I'm not that experienced with SSH or command lines and where to put them in.
I would be thankfull if anyone can help me and give me step by step instructions (for dummies).
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22923
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: How to run Filebot via xpra on Synology

Post by rednoah »

:?: What did the console output say when you tried to run the docker container via SSH?

Code: Select all

docker run --rm -it -v $PWD:/volume1 -v data:/data -p 5454:5454 rednoah/filebot:xpra

:?: The rednoah/filebot:xpra docker container is not made for Synology NAS, but it should work just the same on any docker host (you can even run it on Windows and macOS for testing) by merit of docker:
https://linuxhint.com/run-docker-contai ... ology-nas/
(Synology NAS has a WebUI for Docker; which might make things easier for you, but you'll also have to figure out how to translate the docker command-line option above into corresponding WebUI configuration fields)


:!: If you can't access the Xpra Web Client, then that probably means that the Xpra Server is not running, or network accessible, which then means that the Xpra Desktop Client also has no chance of working.




EDIT:

Note that Docker fundamentally only works on Intel-based Synology NAS devices. So only users with higher-end devices will be able to provide hands-on Synology-specific guidance here.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
Smallville131
Posts: 7
Joined: 10 Oct 2018, 23:49

Re: How to run Filebot via xpra on Synology

Post by Smallville131 »

What did the console output say when you tried to run the docker container via SSH?
Do you mean, when I'm using Powershell to connect via ssh to the server?
If yes, than I get this after login

Code: Select all

docker: Got permission denied while trying to connect to the Docker daemon socket at unix:///var/run/docker.sock: Post "http://%2Fvar%2Frun%2Fdocker.sock/v1.24/containers/create": dial unix /var/run/docker.sock: connect: permission denied.
See 'docker run --help'.
and using

Code: Select all

docker run --rm -it -v $PWD:/volume1 -v data:/data -p 5454:5454 rednoah/filebot:xpra
Could it be, that in $PWD I actually should use my password instead of PWD?
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22923
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: How to run Filebot via xpra on Synology

Post by rednoah »

1.
Looks like the docker command doesn't work for some reason. Therefore no docker container is started or running. You may have to ask the Synology experts how to use docker on Synology devices:
https://community.synology.com/


2.
$PWD means current working directory. -v $PWD:/volume1 means we're mounting the current working directory into the docker container as /volume1 so that the container can access your host file system. It'll work just fine for initial testing, but you'll wanna change it to the actual path to your files later. This will become clear once the container is working.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
Post Reply