On CLI how to see "tryout" rename before actually renaming?

Support for Synology NAS, QNAP NAS and other Embedded Linux systems
Post Reply
rpgmaker
Posts: 18
Joined: 01 May 2016, 17:06

On CLI how to see "tryout" rename before actually renaming?

Post by rpgmaker »

Hello everyone,

I'm just trying the CLI now and I'm wondering how can I see the renaming scheme that will be applied before applying it? I reviewed http://www.filebot.net/cli.html but I either missed it or the option wasn't clear enough there. Is there a way to do this?

The GUI does this by default and it's very useful because many times, by default, the app is about to apply the same filename to several files (I know that it doesn't actually get to do this even if I went ahead with the rename) which means that something in the filename is throwing it off, sometimes I use another DB and it fixes it. Other times I have to rename the files using another application like pyRenamer to fix the filenames and then use filebot if needed. In any case it's useful to see what the app is about to do. Any help would be appreciated.
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22976
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: On CLI how to see "tryout" rename before actually renami

Post by rednoah »

I think you mean --action test

Code: Select all

--action test
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
rpgmaker
Posts: 18
Joined: 01 May 2016, 17:06

Re: On CLI how to see "tryout" rename before actually renami

Post by rpgmaker »

rednoah wrote:I think you mean --action test

Code: Select all

--action test
Indeed! But I think that action isn't listed here: http://www.filebot.net/cli.html it should be added. I also think that basic mass renaming should be added to the app, it'd help a lot with screwed up filenames.
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22976
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: On CLI how to see "tryout" rename before actually renami

Post by rednoah »

1.
The primary reference for command-line options is the built-in command-line help:

Code: Select all

filebot -help
2.
If something is not working as well as it should be, feel free to post the logs.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
rpgmaker
Posts: 18
Joined: 01 May 2016, 17:06

Re: On CLI how to see "tryout" rename before actually renami

Post by rpgmaker »

rednoah wrote:2.
If something is not working as well as it should be, feel free to post the logs.
What I meant was, to simply have a basic "replace" capability so any ridiculous characters and stuff that throw off filebot could be removed from the filenames. Right now if the scrapper doesn't get the filename (because the filename is screwed up) you have to use an additional app. With that functionality there wouldn't be a need for an additional app.
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22976
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: On CLI how to see "tryout" rename before actually renami

Post by rednoah »

GUI => Generic File Mode
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=2072

CLI => Replace Script
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=5#p2100
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
rpgmaker
Posts: 18
Joined: 01 May 2016, 17:06

Re: On CLI how to see "tryout" rename before actually renami

Post by rpgmaker »

rednoah wrote:GUI => Generic File Mode
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=2072

CLI => Replace Script
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=5#p2100
Nice, thanks!
Post Reply