Kodi 16.1 and the tvshow.nfo

Support for Synology NAS, QNAP NAS and other Embedded Linux systems
Post Reply
hellmaker
Donor
Posts: 35
Joined: 13 Jan 2016, 20:43

Kodi 16.1 and the tvshow.nfo

Post by hellmaker » 18 Jul 2016, 09:11

Hi,

i was having problem that kodi does not recongnize tvshows (series) in my folders.
The naming from filebot is quiet ok but kodi simply not find any content in those folders.

I figure out that i have to delete the tvshow.nfo. After doing so kodi is finding the shows and integrate it inside the database.

So it´s not very fine to manually remove all the tvshow.nfo files which are greated by filebot.

What can i do to improve this?

http://pastebin.com/nxPSmVnR

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 16416
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Kodi 16.1 and the tvshow.nfo

Post by rednoah » 18 Jul 2016, 10:09

Not sure, it's kind of a Kodi issue. What to the Kodi devs suggest?

FileBot doesn't generate the <episodeguide> element anymore because TheTVDB API v2 is different from the current XML API. Kodi should use it's own code look up additional info.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

hellmaker
Donor
Posts: 35
Joined: 13 Jan 2016, 20:43

Re: Kodi 16.1 and the tvshow.nfo

Post by hellmaker » 18 Jul 2016, 10:18

Kodi devs suggest nothing............ There are no replies to my thread.
Kodi support isn´t that good as here :)

FYI: http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=282774

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 16416
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Kodi 16.1 and the tvshow.nfo

Post by rednoah » 18 Jul 2016, 10:25

<episodeguide> is supposed to be a TheTVDB API v1 XML Series Record URL but the new TheTVDB API v2 works differently.

I could have it output <episodeguide> elements and that would work for now, but eventually TheTVDB API v1 will be turned off, so this would just be a temporary relief in absence of an official solution on the Kodi side.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

hellmaker
Donor
Posts: 35
Joined: 13 Jan 2016, 20:43

Re: Kodi 16.1 and the tvshow.nfo

Post by hellmaker » 18 Jul 2016, 10:32

Is there a way to NOT create such a tvshow.nfo file?
Just as work around.............

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 16416
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Kodi 16.1 and the tvshow.nfo

Post by rednoah » 18 Jul 2016, 13:56

hellmaker wrote:Is there a way to NOT create such a tvshow.nfo file?
--def artwork=y creates artwork and nfo files. Set --def artwork=n and it won't create nfo files (nor download artwork files).
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 16416
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Kodi 16.1 and the tvshow.nfo

Post by rednoah » 28 Apr 2019, 04:50

Can anybody confirm that newer versions of Kodi (i.e. latest stable) works perfectly fine now that <episodeguide> has been removed and that the absence of <episodeguide> is only an issue for older versions of Kodi?
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

kim
Power User
Posts: 796
Joined: 15 May 2014, 16:17

Re: Kodi 16.1 and the tvshow.nfo

Post by kim » 28 Apr 2019, 17:31

It does NOT:
<episodeguide>
<url cache=""></url>
</episodeguide>

Required if no or missing episode nfo's
https://kodi.wiki/view/NFO_files/TV_shows#TV_Show

aka useless without episode nfo's (time to add support)

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=5451&p=31192#p31191

if Kodi makes (export) the nfo's then e.g.:

Code: Select all

    <episodeguide>
        <url post="yes" cache="auth.json">https://api.thetvdb.com/login?{&quot;apikey&quot;:&quot;439DFEBA9D3059C6&quot;,&quot;id&quot;:269586}|Content-Type=application/json</url>
    </episodeguide>
EDIT:
Here is the fix ;)

Code: Select all

episodeguide { url(post:"yes", cache:"auth.json", "https://api.thetvdb.com/login?{&quot;apikey&quot;:&quot;439DFEBA9D3059C6&quot;,&quot;id&quot;:${i.id}}|Content-Type=application/json") }

kim
Power User
Posts: 796
Joined: 15 May 2014, 16:17

Re: Kodi 16.1 and the tvshow.nfo

Post by kim » 28 Apr 2019, 18:30

How to stop the XML convert ?
from

Code: Select all

&quot;
to

Code: Select all

&amp;quot;

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 16416
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Kodi 16.1 and the tvshow.nfo

Post by rednoah » 29 Apr 2019, 08:34

I've modified the script to generate the <episodeguide> element for TheTVDB APIv2. You can try -script dev:amc and see if it works.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

kim
Power User
Posts: 796
Joined: 15 May 2014, 16:17

Re: Kodi 16.1 and the tvshow.nfo

Post by kim » 29 Apr 2019, 14:36

the episodeguide part works and no more "&amp;quot;" :)

but the tvdb part did nothing :(
still "&" into

Code: Select all

&amp;

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 16416
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Kodi 16.1 and the tvshow.nfo

Post by rednoah » 29 Apr 2019, 16:26

" is perfectly fine in XML text content, by spec, so no need to escape it, and can't because Groovy generates the XML.

That being said, we need to generate whatever XML flavor Kodi can read. So the reason Kodi can't deal with the nfo files is because it's " in the name and not &quot; can you confirm?
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

kim
Power User
Posts: 796
Joined: 15 May 2014, 16:17

Re: Kodi 16.1 and the tvshow.nfo

Post by kim » 30 Apr 2019, 00:18

Code: Select all

<episodeguide>
        <url post="yes" cache="auth.json">https://api.thetvdb.com/login?{&quot;apikey&quot;:&quot;439DFEBA9D3059C6&quot;,&quot;id&quot;:269586}|Content-Type=application/json</url>
</episodeguide>
vs

Code: Select all

<episodeguide>
        <url post="yes" cache="auth.json">https://api.thetvdb.com/login?{"apikey":"439DFEBA9D3059C6","id":269586}|Content-Type=application/json</url>
    </episodeguide>
looks like Kodi (18.2) work with both but &quot; is the safe way

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 16416
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Kodi 16.1 and the tvshow.nfo

Post by rednoah » 30 Apr 2019, 04:12

I'll stick with letting Groovy generate the XML then, without making any replacements on the raw String value afterwards.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

Post Reply