Simple movie.nfo file creation

Running FileBot from the console, Groovy / FileBot scripting, shell scripts, etc
VAlexiou

Simple movie.nfo file creation

Post by VAlexiou » 26 Oct 2018, 13:08

Hi all,

I have quite an extensive movie library (>6000) and lately I had to rescan my whole library to Kodi. The Kodi scrapers do not work very efficiently any more - about 10% of my movies are not recognized. The only way to scrape these movies is to create a movie.nfo file in each movie's folder which contains only one line - The IMDB URL.

I have no experience in scripting and although I tried everything I could following this link viewtopic.php?t=501 I had no success, since it is an old thread.

Can anybody help ? I need a script to create a movie.nfo in each movie's folder (if it doesn't have one) with only one line : the IMDB URL of the specific movie.

Thanx for your help

rednoah
The Source

Re: Simple movie.nfo file creation

Post by rednoah » 27 Oct 2018, 04:29

This should do the trick:
viewtopic.php?t=5
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

VAlexiou

Post by VAlexiou » 27 Oct 2018, 09:22

I've tried the script you mentioned and it works fine. The problem is that it creates a full (all metadata) nfo file plus it downloads all available artwork. I've found that it is a lot better to let Kodi handle all that, so it can updated and managed through Kodi later. I only need the nfo file (movie.nfo) to do one thing - match the movie to the correct IMDB ID and then let Kodi handle all the rest. So it should only have one line - the IMDB url like this

Code: Select all

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt1781058/?ref_=fn_al_tt_1
Since I don't know how to modify the artwork.tmdb script to achieve that , can you please help?

Thanx...

rednoah
The Source

Post by rednoah » 27 Oct 2018, 10:13

Sorry, the artwork script doesn't have an option for that. If you just want to generate url / nfo files, then you'd have to write a custom script from scratch for that.