Migrate from flat movie library to individual folders per movie

All about user-defined episode / movie / file name format expressions
beembum

Migrate from flat movie library to individual folders per movie

Post by beembum »

I am new to FileBot and for me it is a one-off migration tool, not intended for recurring use.
I have now spent several hours to figure out what is the right renaming expression for me, and failed.
I experimented, read the documentation and searched around in this forum.
Definitely I need help with this.

I would like to migrate from a relatively flat movie library structure to a structure where each movie is stored in an individual folder. There are some "easy" ways to do that, but they involve lookups to TMDB. I do not want this because my naming scheme and the Kodi Library are based on IMDB data, and often the publication year is not the same in IMDB and TMDB. There are also other differences.

In my case no lookups should be necessary at all, since I have a very clean and working movie file scheme.

So, what I want to do is the following:

For a given movie filename determine whether it contains a file extension,
(i) if it has an extension (e.g. mp4, avi, mkv, iso, img,...): prepend a new folder name as follows:
use everything left to and including the (year) of the movie filename
then append the movie filename {fn} and ".{ext}"

(ii) if it has no extension (BD, DVD folder structure): do not prepend a new folder name and just use the filename {fn} (which actually in this case is a folder name) as is

I started out with {fn.before("\\)")})/{fn}.{ext} for (i), but when I tried to introduce conditionals based on {ext} I always ran into parser errors, no matter what i tried.

I would really appreciate, if someone could help me out here. Although I did not find a solution for this here, I would assume it is interesting for many people who would migrate from a well groomed flat movie library to a subfolder structure.
rednoah
The Source