Question about naming

All about user-defined episode / movie format expressions
Post Reply
usedbillyclub
Posts: 3
Joined: 10 Mar 2018, 14:32

Question about naming

Post by usedbillyclub » 10 Mar 2018, 14:42

Hello, I've been using filebot for a few months and I feel I understand the basics. Recently I wanted to change my tv shows from "Supernatural - S13E15 - A Most Holy Man [720p]" to "Supernatural - S13E15 - A Most Holy Man (WEBDL-720p)" really just adding the "source" in with the quality but every time I add it the syntax gives me an error. This is the expression I think would work {n} - {s00e00} - {t} ({source}{vf}). I don't know why this is will not work. any help would be appreciated.

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 13947
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Question about naming

Post by rednoah » 10 Mar 2018, 15:58

The format looks good to me. What does the error say?
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

usedbillyclub
Posts: 3
Joined: 10 Mar 2018, 14:32

Re: Question about naming

Post by usedbillyclub » 10 Mar 2018, 16:41

I'm not receiving an error now. I must have had a binding misplaced. Still not producing the "source" of the file though.

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 13947
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Question about naming

Post by rednoah » 10 Mar 2018, 16:44

{source} is based on the current filename.

If the file is called Alias.mp4 then {source} won't work. If the file is called Alias.DVDRip.mp4 then {source} will work.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

usedbillyclub
Posts: 3
Joined: 10 Mar 2018, 14:32

Re: Question about naming

Post by usedbillyclub » 10 Mar 2018, 18:05

Since I've already renamed all my files to the basic naming of {n} - {s00e00} - {t} ({vf}), there is no way for filebot to know that {source} now?

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 13947
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Question about naming

Post by rednoah » 11 Mar 2018, 02:57

Yes, if the destination filesystem supports xattr:
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=324

No, if the destination filesystem does not support xattr and thus doesn't allow FileBot to check the original filename. If {source} doesn't work, then this is probably the case, and you're out of luck.


:idea: NTFS and SMB shares on Synology NAS generally work. Where are your files located and how do you access them?
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest