Using the embedded metadata media title in my custom format

All about user-defined episode / movie / file name format expressions
Dyldawg

Using the embedded metadata media title in my custom format

Post by Dyldawg »

I apologise if this has been mentioned earlier - things got a little overwhelming as I am no programmer.

However my request is simple - is there a way to rename the 'mediaTitle' info through this tool?

Long story short, it is the 'media.title' or 'mediaTitle', according to the expressions in the tool, that is the faulty name giving me grief (It is a long winded title my DVD rip software generated).

So yeah...is there a line of code or something I can do in order to edit this info? (replace mediaTitle = {t})
rednoah
The Source

Re: Using the embedded metadata media title in my custom format

Post by rednoah »

Yes, you can just use {mediaTitle} as part of your custom format:

Code: Select all

{mediaTitle}
Both {media.title} and {mediaTitle} yield the same value. Using {mediaTitle} is recommended as it is a top-level binding, meaning it's faster and better supported then generically accessing an arbitrary MediaInfo field via the {media} binding.

:arrow: https://www.filebot.net/naming.html

I'm referring to using {mediaTitle} as part of a custom naming scheme. If you want to edit mkv/mp4/etc metadata, then FileBot can't help you there. FileBot does not modify files and thus doesn't support editing mkv/mp4/etc metadata. You can use other tools for that, but note that you'll probably need to use different tools for different container formats.

Most of these tools will be command-line tools, so they might be difficult for you to use. Maybe there's GUI programs that do the same job, but not sure.

e.g. here's an example on how you can use the filebot command-line tools to automate mkvpropedit calls:
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=5047
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
Dyldawg

Post by Dyldawg »

I appreciate the swift reply