What variables do I use?

All your suggestions, requests and ideas for future development
Post Reply
Bilious72
Posts: 3
Joined: 15 Jul 2017, 23:52

What variables do I use?

Post by Bilious72 »

I'm trying to create a new preset. I've been using "Name" "Release Year" for a long time, but then I find I'm manually going back and adding the resolution (480p, 720p, 1080p, 4k) and the audio format and number of channels (MP3, DTS, Atmos, AAC, AC3, etc.). Is there a way I can create preset to do that automatically so that my final product is something like Avatar (2009) 1080p AC3 5.1 ? It would save me a ton of time as I currently start the movie in VLC, go to "tools" "codec information" and manually add it to the file and folder names.

Thanks :)
Bilious72
Posts: 3
Joined: 15 Jul 2017, 23:52

Re: What variables do I use?

Post by Bilious72 »

I think I figured it out {ny} {vf} {ac} {channels}. Is that correct? Will the audio codec always be in caps (I hope)?
kim
Power User
Posts: 1251
Joined: 15 May 2014, 16:17

Re: What variables do I use?

Post by kim »

looks correct, but maybe more like this

Code: Select all

{ny} ({allOf{vf}{ac}{channels}.join(', ')})
or

Code: Select all

{ny} {allOf{vf}{ac}{channels}}
"always be in caps", yes... and if not you can use e.g.

Code: Select all

{ac.lower()} or {ac.upper()}
Bilious72
Posts: 3
Joined: 15 Jul 2017, 23:52

Re: What variables do I use?

Post by Bilious72 »

Thank you very much. I will give those a try. I'm psyched about how much time this will save me on hundreds of thousands of files.
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22923
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: What variables do I use?

Post by rednoah »

You can find all the available variables in the Bindings and MediaInfo views:
viewtopic.php?t=4285

{ac} will probably be all caps, but if it's not, then you can always make it all uppercase, as kim has explained. ;)
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
Post Reply