Can't run filebot at all

All your suggestions, requests and ideas for future development
Post Reply
User avatar
FHD
Posts: 4
Joined: 30 Jun 2018, 11:53

Can't run filebot at all

Post by FHD » 30 Jun 2018, 12:01

Hello there,
I have this problem from the begging, when i purchased it from Windows store.
this is the info when i run filebot -script fn:sysinfo in CMD

Code: Select all

FileBot 4.8.1 (r????)
JNA Native: 5.2.0
MediaInfo: 18.03
7-Zip-JBinding: 9.20
Chromaprint: 1.4.2
Extended Attributes: OK
Unicode Filesystem: OK
Script Bundle: 2018-03-16 (r516)
Groovy: 2.4.13
JRE: Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment 10
JVM: ??-bit Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM
CPU/MEM: 8 Core / 5 GB Max Memory / 51 MB Used Memory
OS: Windows 10 (amd64)
Package: APPX
Done ?(?????)?
can anyone please help ?
thanks..

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 14639
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Can't run filebot at all

Post by rednoah » 30 Jun 2018, 14:14

According to the log, FileBot seems to work just fine from console.


These question marks strike me as very odd though:

Code: Select all

FileBot 4.8.1 (r????)
JVM: ??-bit Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM
That's just digits, not special unicode symbols, so I've got no why that would be screwed up. It probably has nothing to do with why the GUI doesn't work though.


If it's the GUI that's not working, what happens if you launch the FileBot GUI from the console?

Code: Select all

filebot
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

User avatar
FHD
Posts: 4
Joined: 30 Jun 2018, 11:53

Re: Can't run filebot at all

Post by FHD » 30 Jun 2018, 14:22

rednoah wrote:
30 Jun 2018, 14:14
According to the log, FileBot seems to work just fine from console.

What happens if you launch the FileBot GUI from the console?

Code: Select all

filebot
thanks for answering
here:

Code: Select all

Exception in thread "AWT-EventQueue-0" java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Malformed UnitValue: '??px'
        at net.miginfocom.layout.ConstraintParser.parseUnitValue(Unknown Source)
        at net.miginfocom.layout.ConstraintParser.parseBoundSize(Unknown Source)
        at net.miginfocom.layout.ConstraintParser.parseAxisConstraint(Unknown Source)
        at net.miginfocom.layout.ConstraintParser.parseColumnConstraints(Unknown Source)
        at net.miginfocom.swing.MigLayout.setColumnConstraints(Unknown Source)
        at net.miginfocom.swing.MigLayout.<init>(Unknown Source)
        at net.filebot.ui.MainFrame.<init>(MainFrame.java:68)
        at net.filebot.Main.startUserInterface(Main.java:201)
        at net.filebot.Main.lambda$main$1(Main.java:142)
        at java.desktop/java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(Unknown Source)
        at java.desktop/java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
        at java.desktop/java.awt.EventQueue.access$600(Unknown Source)
        at java.desktop/java.awt.EventQueue$4.run(Unknown Source)
        at java.desktop/java.awt.EventQueue$4.run(Unknown Source)
        at java.base/java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
        at java.base/java.security.ProtectionDomain$JavaSecurityAccessImpl.doIntersectionPrivilege(Unknown Source)
        at java.desktop/java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
        at java.desktop/java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(Unknown Source)
        at java.desktop/java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(Unknown Source)
        at java.desktop/java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
        at java.desktop/java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
        at java.desktop/java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
        at java.desktop/java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)
Caused by: java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Unknown keyword: ??px
        at net.miginfocom.layout.UnitValue.parseUnitString(Unknown Source)
        at net.miginfocom.layout.UnitValue.<init>(Unknown Source)
        at net.miginfocom.layout.UnitValue.<init>(Unknown Source)
        ... 23 more

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 14639
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Can't run filebot at all

Post by rednoah » 30 Jun 2018, 14:26

That might have something to do with all the Integer values being screwed up internally:

Code: Select all

FileBot 4.8.1 (r????)
JVM: ??-bit Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM
That is extremely strange and makes no sense. I've got no clue. There's something severely odd and screwed up on your machine. It's like all the numeric values have been corrupted in memory, which can't really happen.

The one clue I do have, is that the exact same binary works for everyone else, so there must be something really strange going on your this particular machine? Maybe anti-virus / firewall tools that interfere with the memory of the filebot process? Maybe some strange environment variable that changes the system charset in some odd way?
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

User avatar
FHD
Posts: 4
Joined: 30 Jun 2018, 11:53

Re: Can't run filebot at all

Post by FHD » 30 Jun 2018, 14:53

rednoah wrote:
30 Jun 2018, 14:26
That might have something to do with all the Integer values being screwed up internally:

Code: Select all

FileBot 4.8.1 (r????)
JVM: ??-bit Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM
so is it with java then?
i mean, recently i updated my java but it wasn't working before so.. im not sure if that is relevant to this problem.
The one clue I do have, is that the exact same binary works for everyone else, so there must be something really strange going on your this particular machine? Maybe anti-virus / firewall tools that interfere with the memory of the filebot process?
my anti-virus is Kaspersky. I tried to turn it of then run it again, didn't work. And no different info on console as well.
im not sure how will that interfere with memory process to the application can you explain more?

Maybe some strange environment variable that changes the system charset in some odd way?
can you give me some examples. Maybe i do have some of these laying around.. :?

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 14639
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Can't run filebot at all

Post by rednoah » 30 Jun 2018, 15:02

1.
It's not Java. The APPX package includes a JRE so FileBot does not need or use or even look at the Oracle JDK you may or may not have installed on your system as well.

2.
Did you by any chance set JAVA_OPTS or FILEBOT_OPTS environment variables? Your locale settings may effect things as well? Are you using en_US locale?

3.
Have you tried uninstalling and reinstalling FileBot via the Microsoft Store?

4.
Can you try this on a second Windows machine? Preferably a clean machine, so we can find a machine that works, and then figure out what's different.


EDIT:
You could also try the latest non-Store release (early beta, but it should work) to see if that makes a difference:
https://get.filebot.net/filebot/FileBot_4.8.2/
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

User avatar
FHD
Posts: 4
Joined: 30 Jun 2018, 11:53

Re: Can't run filebot at all

Post by FHD » 30 Jun 2018, 16:19

2.
Did you by any chance set JAVA_OPTS or FILEBOT_OPTS environment variables? Your locale settings may effect things as well? Are you using en_US locale?
i didn't change any of that. i mean should i ? and how can i check ?
3.
Have you tried uninstalling and reinstalling FileBot via the Microsoft Store?
yes, it didn't work :(
4.
Can you try this on a second Windows machine? Preferably a clean machine, so we can find a machine that works, and then figure out what's different.
my current windows machine is on my pc its not a VM. So it's a bet hard to set another win machine at the moment. i'll work on that later and report you as soon as i get it.
EDIT:
You could also try the latest non-Store release (early beta, but it should work) to see if that makes a difference:
https://get.filebot.net/filebot/FileBot_4.8.2/
didn't work unfortunately (both full and portable ver.)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests