Page 1 of 1

Won't do anything because of missing "license"

Posted: 02 Nov 2019, 19:26
by Andre-K
I toggle a bit between good old version and again tried the latest.
It won't even rename anything, because of no license.
Did i "spend" my trail-time since install, or by using it x times/files ? I even use the current version to achieve this situation (no trail-time left) ?
I must say it is hard to know which version I run, as the app has no clear identification. - so I might have tested it successfully, thinking it was the older one...

Re: Won't do anything because of missing "license"

Posted: 03 Nov 2019, 05:51
by rednoah
The Rename button is locked unless you have a license, always, there is no trail time. Everything else is unlocked regardless of license.


:idea: Newer versions do show the version in the window title. If it doesn't say FileBot 4.8.5 or FileBot 4.8.6 in the window title, then that means you're using an older version.


You can use filebot -version in the CLI, or hit F5 in the GUI to check the version and revision numbers.


:idea: Please read How to Request Help.

Re: Won't do anything because of missing "license"

Posted: 03 Nov 2019, 16:28
by Andre-K
being trail-less, I must ask whatever this bug has been fixed: (the JavaFX error on rename)

Code: Select all

Gtk-Message: 17:22:51.967: Failed to load module "canberra-gtk-module"
Failed to initialize JavaFX. Please install JavaFX.
java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: javafx/embed/swing/JFXPanel
	at net.filebot.util.ui.SwingUI.initJavaFX(SwingUI.java:510)
	at net.filebot.Main.onStart(Main.java:151)
	at net.filebot.Main.lambda$null$0(Main.java:129)
	at net.filebot.util.ui.SwingUI$SwingRunnable.doInBackground(SwingUI.java:426)
	at net.filebot.util.ui.SwingUI$SwingRunnable.doInBackground(SwingUI.java:416)
Caused by: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: javafx.embed.swing.JFXPanel
	at java.base/jdk.internal.loader.BuiltinClassLoader.loadClass(BuiltinClassLoader.java:581)
	at java.base/jdk.internal.loader.ClassLoaders$AppClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoaders.java:178)
	... 5 more

ClassNotFoundException: javafx.concurrent.Task
java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: javafx/concurrent/Task
	at net.filebot.ui.rename.RenameAction.lambda$actionPerformed$1(RenameAction.java:91)
	at net.filebot.util.ui.SwingUI.withWaitCursor(SwingUI.java:324)
	at net.filebot.ui.rename.RenameAction.actionPerformed(RenameAction.java:69)
Caused by: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: javafx.concurrent.Task
	at java.base/jdk.internal.loader.BuiltinClassLoader.loadClass(BuiltinClassLoader.java:581)
	at java.base/jdk.internal.loader.ClassLoaders$AppClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoaders.java:178)
	... 3 more

Of course, I am running openJDK -(would not consider installing a pile of well known, and much more often exploited bugs from Sun.)

Re: Won't do anything because of missing "license"

Posted: 03 Nov 2019, 17:12
by rednoah
1.
OpenJFX is a dependency, if you're using the GUI. Did you install OpenJFX?

Code: Select all

Failed to initialize JavaFX. Please install JavaFX.

2.
I recommend using apt install filebot since that'll automatically install all dependencies as well:
https://www.filebot.net/linux/apt.html


3.
Andre-K wrote: 03 Nov 2019, 16:28 Of course, I am running openJDK -(would not consider installing a pile of well known, and much more often exploited bugs from Sun.)
IDK. Do you mean Java Applets / Java WebStart and related browser plug-ins? These things don't really exist anymore. Neither is supported by the JDK nor browsers nowadays.

Re: Won't do anything because of missing "license"

Posted: 03 Nov 2019, 18:57
by Andre-K
The standard repository is still installing 4.7.9 (which I apparently have) - and it's dependencies are installed. (this worked before)

Code: Select all

sudo apt install openjfx
[sudo] password for andre: 
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
openjfx is already the newest version (11.0.2+1-1).

Re: Won't do anything because of missing "license"

Posted: 03 Nov 2019, 19:39
by rednoah
The apt repository didn't exist until 4.8.2 so if you have 4.7.9 then it wasn't installed via apt. Just uninstall all versions of FileBot you may have installed, and then only install via apt.