NOOB asking for script help with two rename problems

Any questions? Need some help?
Kallita

NOOB asking for script help with two rename problems

Post by Kallita »

Thanks for any help provided.
I am a relative noob to programming but have been able to cobble together several scripts for the gui that run with relative correctness, but am having problems with 2 situations :
the first: I have a script to modify a file name but have some files that end with "(1)" "(2)" (3) etc [without the quotes] that usually indicate duplicates, and I can't figure out how to remove those brackets and number and not remove other brackets and contents. It is not on all files only those that are duplicate.
Second: I have a bunch of words (10 right now, but could add more) that I remove from the file name. Right now I am just using fn.removeAll("words") for each instance/word that i want to remove. some of the words start with a - and others do not. for example removeAll("-worda").removeAll("wordb").removeAll("word-c") . although this works I can't help thinking it is inefficient and was wondering if there was a way of doing it more succinctly that would allow for the future addition of more words.
thanks for your time and a great program
Kallita
rednoah
The Source

Re: NOOB asking for script help with two rename problems

Post by rednoah »

FileBot has a helper function for that one:

Code: Select all

"Test (1)".replaceTrailingBrackets() # Test

/regular expressions/ allow you to describe generic text patterns succinctly: https://regexr.com/

"A B C 1 2 3 4 5".removeAll(/B|C|[0-9]+/) # A
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
Kallita

Post by Kallita »

Thanks for the help!
I am using filebot on a windows 10 (if that matters) in plain file rename mode

here is an example of the file names i am running through filebot:
All Star Western 097 (1957) (c2c) (Superscan)
2000AD 2164 (2020) (Digital-Empire)(1)

here is the code I am using pretty simple