License Activation Questions and Answers

Any questions? Need some help?
brockm
Posts: 1
Joined: 31 Dec 2019, 03:50

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by brockm »

posting to be able to pm.
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 19011
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by rednoah »

brockm wrote: 31 Dec 2019, 04:01 posting to be able to pm.
I've re-sent your license file to your correct email address.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
rogue780
Posts: 1
Joined: 04 Jan 2020, 00:22

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by rogue780 »

Hi. I received my license, but when I try to activate it, I'm told it isn't a valid license:

Code: Select all

[email protected]:/opt/docker/filebot$ docker run --rm -it -v data:/data rednoah/filebot --license ./FileBot_License_P11047329.psm
Error during startup
net.filebot.cli.CmdlineException: Invalid License File: ./FileBot_License_P11047329.psm
        at net.filebot.cli.ArgumentBean.getLicenseKey(ArgumentBean.java:367)
        at net.filebot.Main.main(Main.java:125)
Caused by: java.nio.file.NoSuchFileException: ./FileBot_License_P11047329.psm
        at net.filebot.util.FileUtilities.readFile(FileUtilities.java:202)
        at net.filebot.util.FileUtilities.readTextFile(FileUtilities.java:213)
        at net.filebot.cli.ArgumentBean.getLicenseKey(ArgumentBean.java:365)
        ... 1 more
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 19011
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by rednoah »

FileBot is running inside the container, so the file path you pass in must be valid from the point of view of the container, not your host.

You’re passing in a file path that doesn’t exist from the point of view of the container, so it says Caused by: java.nio.file.NoSuchFileException. You must map the folder where the *.psm file is into the container and then specify the corresponding path as license file argument.

Please read the manual carefully:
https://hub.docker.com/r/rednoah/filebot/
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
kneelesh48
Posts: 1
Joined: 06 Jan 2020, 16:06

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by kneelesh48 »

For some reason, I'm not able to paste the license key.
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 19011
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by rednoah »

kneelesh48 wrote: 06 Jan 2020, 16:37 For some reason, I'm not able to paste the license key.
If for some reason copy & paste doesn't work, then you can also use the license file you have received as attachment in the second email.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
kpatel6588
Posts: 2
Joined: 12 Jan 2020, 15:31

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by kpatel6588 »

Hi, I just re-newed my filebot license and it no longer works. I can't copy/paste, it won't accept the license file, and it won't activate via fresh install. same error: https://imgur.com/a/TzaSjMC username is same.
Image
Last edited by kpatel6588 on 13 Jan 2020, 01:02, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 19011
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by rednoah »

kpatel6588 wrote: 12 Jan 2020, 15:59 Hi, I just re-newed my filebot license and it no longer works. I can't copy/paste, it won't accept the license file, and it won't activate via fresh install. same error: https://imgur.com/a/TzaSjMC username is same.
Image
Here's a likely solution:
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=11238
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
kpatel6588
Posts: 2
Joined: 12 Jan 2020, 15:31

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by kpatel6588 »

rednoah wrote: 12 Jan 2020, 23:25
kpatel6588 wrote: 12 Jan 2020, 15:59 Hi, I just re-newed my filebot license and it no longer works. I can't copy/paste, it won't accept the license file, and it won't activate via fresh install. same error: https://imgur.com/a/TzaSjMC username is same.
Image
Here's a likely solution:
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=11238
Thank you! All set. Great work btw, cures the OCD
CREWBEAST
Posts: 1
Joined: 15 Jan 2020, 20:11

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by CREWBEAST »

I have purchaced a life-time licence after my one year licencence expired on 1/14/2020. i recieved the email with the text to copy to validate licence as well as the dowloaded file for the validation as well. when i go to copy and paste the validation or direct filebot the the file i get the same error code.

"Licence Error: C:\Users\Owner\AppData\Roaming\FileBot\license.txt"
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 19011
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by rednoah »

CREWBEAST wrote: 15 Jan 2020, 20:19 I have purchaced a life-time licence after my one year licencence expired on 1/14/2020. i recieved the email with the text to copy to validate licence as well as the dowloaded file for the validation as well. when i go to copy and paste the validation or direct filebot the the file i get the same error code.

"Licence Error: C:\Users\Owner\AppData\Roaming\FileBot\license.txt"
Here's a likely solution:
viewtopic.php?t=11238
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
BillySpanner
Posts: 5
Joined: 17 Jan 2020, 13:33

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by BillySpanner »

Can you export a license from a working version? Can’t find email and looking to get new PC and will need to reinstall
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 19011
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by rednoah »

Yes, your license is stored as clear text. You can just copy & paste that.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
BillySpanner
Posts: 5
Joined: 17 Jan 2020, 13:33

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by BillySpanner »

I’ve done the %AppData% and I have no roaming folder named filebot!
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 19011
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by rednoah »

BillySpanner wrote: 17 Jan 2020, 15:41 I’ve done the %AppData% and I have no roaming folder named filebot!
What does filebot -script fn:sysinfo say?
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
BillySpanner
Posts: 5
Joined: 17 Jan 2020, 13:33

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by BillySpanner »

You’ve lost me
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 19011
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by rednoah »

BillySpanner wrote: 17 Jan 2020, 15:56 You’ve lost me
Did you purchase FileBot on the Microsoft Store, or on this website via Paddle our payment processor?
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
BillySpanner
Posts: 5
Joined: 17 Jan 2020, 13:33

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by BillySpanner »

It would have been through your website, I have found a history file when I’ve done a search for ‘filebot’ in the roaming folder, and the first time I used it was 2017-2-10, was Paddle the payment back then?
BillySpanner
Posts: 5
Joined: 17 Jan 2020, 13:33

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by BillySpanner »

It was from the Microsoft Store, sorry for thr trouble
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 19011
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by rednoah »

No worries. That makes things easy.

If you have purchased FileBot via the Microsoft Store, then that means you don't have a license, nor do you need one. The Microsoft Store remembers your purchases, so you can re-install easily anytime without needing anything, as long as you login with your Microsoft Account.

Just keep in mind that Microsoft Store apps can only be installed via the Install button in the Microsoft Store, and not via MSI packages downloaded from the internet. ;)
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
Rawambition
Posts: 1
Joined: 19 Jan 2020, 02:59

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by Rawambition »

I just bought a lifetime license but I plan on getting a new computer in about a year or so, will I be able to use my licensed filebot on that computer?

Edit: Nevermind I just read the "A single per-user license is valid on all platforms and can be used on multiple machines." text on the website, & so I'm guessing I'll be okay when the time comes.
mitchellfranklin
Posts: 1
Joined: 24 Jan 2020, 09:25

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by mitchellfranklin »

Posting for PM :)
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 19011
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by rednoah »

mitchellfranklin wrote: 24 Jan 2020, 09:54 Posting for PM :)
Found it. Resent it. You mistyped your email address. ;)

:idea: viewtopic.php?t=11131
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
chashart5658
Posts: 1
Joined: 04 Feb 2020, 22:51

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by chashart5658 »

Here is my first post. I have not received my Product key.
Ghainor
Posts: 1
Joined: 06 Feb 2020, 15:42

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by Ghainor »

Hello

Posting for PM for I have not received emails.
Post Reply