Something is broken

Any questions? Need some help?
part timer

Something is broken

Post by part timer »

So I'm going to start from the beginning, even though it's a little too much information. I'll apologize now for the length of the post.

So, I have a couple thousand movies I've wanted to centralize for awhile now, on disks and external hard drives. I started playing with this program a few months ago and really like it, although the scripting is still over my head.

I found a free program on the net and used it to take 700 old disks I had in binders and automate the process of transferring them to a hard drive for me. So now I have these ~1100 movies sitting in a temp folder on my server. I decided on the naming format I want and decided I want to use a different program for the nfo and artwork. Before I let a rename script go automated on the folder though I wanted to test it out in small batches. I opened the program up and started dragging and dropping folders into the left rename pane, using groups of 30 movies at a time. I found that not all of the groups I have are known, so I get a lot of [DATA] instead. This is actually a little annoying for the ones that don't have groups instead of not showing up at all, but that's fine, no biggie. I've been making a list of the groups I have that haven't shown up so I can send it in after.

Question about that before I keep going. Is it better to rename the movie, then manually change [DATA] to the proper group, or email the list and rename them after the list has been updated. I think the only thing that can really be affected by this, would be the history and option of undoing the rename.