Filebot rename cli reacts badly when file already exists

Any questions? Need some help?
Post Reply
belgarth
Posts: 30
Joined: 25 Jan 2012, 09:19

Filebot rename cli reacts badly when file already exists

Post by belgarth » 08 Mar 2012, 21:21

[email protected]:~/Downloads/TV-Shows/Unsorted$ ls
psych.s06e11.720p.hdtv.x264-compulsion.mkv the.colbert.report.2012.03.07.hdtv.xvid-fqm.avi
psych.s06e11.720p.hdtv.x264-orenji.mkv the.soup.2012.03.07.720p.hdtv.x264-momentum.mkv
survivor.s24e04.720p.hdtv.x264-orenji.mkv
[email protected]:~/Downloads/TV-Shows/Unsorted$ filebot -non-strict -rename --db thetvdb --format "/home/belgarth/Downloads/TV-Shows/{n}/{n} - {s}x{e} - {t}" /home/belgarth\
/Downloads/TV-Shows/Unsorted/*
Rename episodes using [TVRage]
Auto-detected query: [the colbert report, survivor, the soup, psych]
Fetching episode data for [The Soup]
Fetching episode data for [Survivor]
Fetching episode data for [The Colbert Report]
Fetching episode data for [Psych]
Fetching episode data for [Survivor (UK)]
Fetching episode data for [Survivor (BG)]
Fetching episode data for [Survivor (SA)]
Fetching episode data for [Survivor (DE)]
Fetching episode data for [Survivor (HR)]
Fetching episode data for [Survivor (Israel)]
Fetching episode data for [Survivor Africa]
Fetching episode data for [Survivor Srbija]
IllegalArgumentException: File already exists: /home/belgarth/Downloads/TV-Shows/Survivor/Survivor - 24x4 - Bum-Puzzled.mkv
java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: File already exists: /home/belgarth/Downloads/TV-Shows/Survivor/Survivor - 24x4 - Bum-Puzzled.mkv
at net.sourceforge.filebot.cli.CmdlineOperations.renameAll(Unknown Source)
at net.sourceforge.filebot.cli.CmdlineOperations.renameSeries(Unknown Source)
at net.sourceforge.filebot.cli.CmdlineOperations.rename(Unknown Source)
at net.sourceforge.filebot.cli.ArgumentProcessor.process(Unknown Source)
at net.sourceforge.filebot.Main.main(Unknown Source)
Failure (°_°)
[email protected]:~/Downloads/TV-Shows/Unsorted$ ls
psych.s06e11.720p.hdtv.x264-compulsion.mkv the.colbert.report.2012.03.07.hdtv.xvid-fqm.avi
psych.s06e11.720p.hdtv.x264-orenji.mkv the.soup.2012.03.07.720p.hdtv.x264-momentum.mkv
survivor.s24e04.720p.hdtv.x264-orenji.mkv

The most important issue with it is that it seems to terminate the run, so that the other files in the directory that could have been properly renames without a conflict fail to do so. I would like to have an option though in addition to tell filebot to overwrite the file with the same name (needed to properly deal with torrent propers)

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 17470
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Filebot rename cli reacts badly when file already exists

Post by rednoah » 09 Mar 2012, 06:02

Added another option for this to r946: --conflict override|skip|fail
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

belgarth
Posts: 30
Joined: 25 Jan 2012, 09:19

Re: Filebot rename cli reacts badly when file already exists

Post by belgarth » 09 Mar 2012, 17:40

thanks for the quick work. New version works perfectly.

You may want to add a link to the latest jar folder to the main download page or add a testing page with a link off of the main site.

NasT
Posts: 3
Joined: 11 Mar 2012, 08:32

Re: Filebot rename cli reacts badly when file already exists

Post by NasT » 11 Mar 2012, 08:48

Hi,

I downloaded the latest version of filebot (2.6) and still get the error "file already exists"... am I doing something wrong?

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 17470
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Filebot rename cli reacts badly when file already exists

Post by rednoah » 11 Mar 2012, 08:58

What's the command you're running? What's the exact error message?
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

NasT
Posts: 3
Joined: 11 Mar 2012, 08:32

Re: Filebot rename cli reacts badly when file already exists

Post by NasT » 11 Mar 2012, 09:04

Thx for the fast reply, I just downloaded the Mac OS X app bundle: FileBot_2.6.app (16MB) and run that... Don't know where to see the command...

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 17470
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Filebot rename cli reacts badly when file already exists

Post by rednoah » 11 Mar 2012, 09:15

"--conflict override" is a cmdline option useful for scripting when things are automated and continuously run without any user input.

The GUI application is the same as before. If the file already exists it'll not let you rename anything until you solve the problem.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

NasT
Posts: 3
Joined: 11 Mar 2012, 08:32

Re: Filebot rename cli reacts badly when file already exists

Post by NasT » 11 Mar 2012, 09:20

Ok, thx, so should use the cmdline, guess that's out of my league :-)

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 17470
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Filebot rename cli reacts badly when file already exists

Post by rednoah » 11 Mar 2012, 09:34

If there's a file you already have, I guess it's like you downloaded another HD/PROPER version or something and are trying re-organize it. Especially on Mac with Automator it's pretty easy to setup automated tasks like that.

Read more in this thread:
http://filebot.sourceforge.net/forums/v ... &t=54#p319
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

Eterimos
Posts: 11
Joined: 29 Apr 2012, 08:10

Re: Filebot rename cli reacts badly when file already exists

Post by Eterimos » 30 Apr 2012, 15:30

Hi,

I also face problems when the file already exists.
For example I have a series folder where some files are already named correctly.
In that case I would like FileBot to process everything and skip the ones that already exists.
This way I can just process the complete folder and don't have to single out the invalid files.

I also noticed a renaming problem on Windows regarding case sensitivity. For example if my file name contains X264, but the naming scheme would write x264 (and apart from that my file name is already correct) it also complains that the file already exists and blocks. I think the only way is to add another character to the file name and then rename it.
Maybe it would be useful to be able to remove the files from the left list so that you can continue with the rest.

Regards

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 17470
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Filebot rename cli reacts badly when file already exists

Post by rednoah » 30 Apr 2012, 15:47

1. supports that via --conflict skip|override

2. Delete files form the list by pressing DELETE. After deleting entries you can line things up again using "Match".
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

Eterimos
Posts: 11
Joined: 29 Apr 2012, 08:10

Re: Filebot rename cli reacts badly when file already exists

Post by Eterimos » 30 Apr 2012, 16:37

Ah ok actually I meant the 'file already exists' message in the GUI. I should have opened a new topic I guess. For the GUI it would also be useful to skip files (as a option).
Anyway I'm switching to CLI soon and the GUI is just a temporary measure.

I did however miss the option to use the delete key. You could add a button, since all the other functions in the GUI are mouse driven.
This solves my problem though - thanks!

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 17470
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Filebot rename cli reacts badly when file already exists

Post by rednoah » 30 Apr 2012, 16:55

Tested the upper/lower case problem. Though in my case (Windows 7 / Java 7) there will not be an error, it'll say things have been renamed. But actually nothing happens. So in my case windows seems to allow the rename operations but ignores it as the name change is not significant.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

Post Reply