Java or Everything Developer loving this project

Talk about the Ultimate Question of Life, The Universe, and Everything
davidfm52

Java or Everything Developer loving this project

Post by davidfm52 »

Hi all,

This message is specially intended to @rednoah, not much experience with forums so sorry for sloppiness writing here.

I am a Java developer loving this software. I've been using it and following it for the last year, and it is an amazing product (yes, I consider it a product). I don't how you manage to spend so much time and dedication on it.

I am only using the CLI version, as I am building an all-in-one tool for media download automation and organization. There are a lot out there: SickBeard, CouchPotato, Sonarr... but I haven't found anything that does everything (manually search or automated search, pick, download, rename, fetch subtitles, copy or move to filesystem, refresh mediacenter or even prepare for streaming) in a single web app without touching a single config file or being lost in tens of config screens. It will take time, but I am willing to have this and install it in a RPi, desktop, cloud... code once, run everywhere. I don't have a lot of time, it goes slow, something already working.

But well, I would like to ask you something about this project:

- Have you considered moving the whole codebase to github? Maybe you don't need it, but I would consider to contribute. SVN and patches are out of my scope right now...
- What's the future of filebot-node? Is it a specific feature for Synology?
- About filebot-node, can I ask why ExtJS? My company is highly regretting having something like that in the frontend, as it very very difficult to maintain...