[Bug Report] Path max length

All your suggestions, requests and ideas for future development
Post Reply
Deviling Master
Posts: 9
Joined: 15 Oct 2012, 09:04

[Bug Report] Path max length

Post by Deviling Master »

Hi, i'm using FileBot x64 on Windows 7 Pro x64 and i found this bug.

If the destination path is longer than 255 characters, the rename function fails without any warning or error.
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22923
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [Bug Report] Path max length

Post by rednoah »

The path can be longer. But on Windows each folder/file name must not exceed 255 characters. Reasonably named files will not exceed this. :P
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
Deviling Master
Posts: 9
Joined: 15 Oct 2012, 09:04

Re: [Bug Report] Path max length

Post by Deviling Master »

rednoah wrote:The path can be longer. But on Windows each folder/file name must not exceed 255 characters. Reasonably named files will not exceed this. :P
My ENTIRE path was 260 chars and the rename didn't work.
After i renamed some folders, the rename function worked
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22923
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [Bug Report] Path max length

Post by rednoah »

What OS? What FileSystem? I impose no limits, but the underlying os/fs implementations may have limits. What's the error logging if you run with a console?
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
Deviling Master
Posts: 9
Joined: 15 Oct 2012, 09:04

Re: [Bug Report] Path max length

Post by Deviling Master »

rednoah wrote:What OS? What FileSystem? I impose no limits, but the underlying os/fs implementations may have limits. What's the error logging if you run with a console?
- Windows 7 Pro x64
- NTFS File SYstem
- How to run console?
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22923
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [Bug Report] Path max length

Post by rednoah »

That should work. Just use the FileBot (console) shortcut and see what it says.

You could also try to change the rename engine. If you install via the msi the normal FileBot shortcut will use Windows Shell. Maybe if you use the Java 7 it'll work, so u can try using the FileBot (platform) shortcut and see if renaming works better in that case.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
Deviling Master
Posts: 9
Joined: 15 Oct 2012, 09:04

Re: [Bug Report] Path max length

Post by Deviling Master »

rednoah wrote:That should work. Just use the FileBot (console) shortcut and see what it says.

You could also try to change the rename engine. If you install via the msi the normal FileBot shortcut will use Windows Shell. Maybe if you use the Java 7 it'll work, so u can try using the FileBot (platform) shortcut and see if renaming works better in that case.
I usually run the program using "Filebot" shortcut ("C:\Program Files\FileBot\filebot.launcher.exe") and, using this, i have the rename problem i talked about.
If i use "FileBot (console)" shortcut, the rename function works correctly.

Which launcher should i use?
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22923
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [Bug Report] Path max length

Post by rednoah »

Well, I guess then the Windows Shell can't handle files with more than 255 chars? This is how you disable that feature and use standard Java move/copy functions:

In filebot.launcher.l4j.ini set useNativeShell to false:

Code: Select all

-DuseNativeShell=false
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
Deviling Master
Posts: 9
Joined: 15 Oct 2012, 09:04

Re: [Bug Report] Path max length

Post by Deviling Master »

rednoah wrote:Well, I guess then the Windows Shell can't handle files with more than 255 chars? This is how you disable that feature and use standard Java move/copy functions:

In filebot.launcher.l4j.ini set useNativeShell to false:

Code: Select all

-DuseNativeShell=false
Yep! Now works :D

Thank you.
Post Reply