Just noticed filebot script not working

Any questions? Need some help?
Post Reply
IceQueen
Posts: 18
Joined: 28 Jul 2019, 11:08

Just noticed filebot script not working

Post by IceQueen »

When I got my license file, after correcting my mistakes and following your advice after I stuck a fork in the power socket I got filebot working. For a little while at least.

I see the dreaded UNREGISTERED line in my amc log file now. Filebot is invoked by uTorrent when a download completes.

Code: Select all

License Error: UNREGISTERED
 ________________________________________________ 
/ Please purchase a FileBot License:             \
\ https://www.filebot.net/purchase.html#msi      /
 ------------------------------------------------ 
      \                             .       .
       \                           / `.   .' " 
        \                  .---.  <    > <    >  .---.
         \                 |    \  \ - ~ ~ - /  /    |
               _____          ..-~             ~-..-~
              |     |   \~~~\.'                    `./~~~/
             ---------   \__/                        \__/
            .'  O    \     /               /       \  " 
           (_____,    `._.'               |         }  \/~~~/
            `----.          /       }     |        /    \__/
                  `-.      |       /      |       /      `. ,~~|
                      ~-.__|      /_ - ~ ^|      /- _      `..-'   
                           |     /        |     /     ~-.     `-. _  _  _
                           |_____|        |_____|         ~ - . _ _ _ _ _>
FileBot requires a valid license. Please run `filebot --license *.psm` install your FileBot license.
Bad License (>_<)
Installing per the above command fails. The error is shown below..

Code: Select all

C:\Program Files\FileBot>filebot --license FileBot_License_PX10392671.psm
Activate License PX10392671
Write [FileBot License PX10392671 (Valid-Until: 2069-11-24)] to [C:\Program Files (x86)\Filebot\FileBot_License_PX10392671.psm]
License Error: C:\Program Files (x86)\Filebot\FileBot_License_PX10392671.psm
Yes, I do see the \program Files (x86) path. The filebot I installed is FileBot_4.8.5_x64.msi, which installed to c:\Program Files\Filebot, not the x86 folder.

Double clicking on the PSM files says it is installed successfully. And I can rename files using the GUI. However, the following amc script still produces the above for every file it processes.

Code: Select all

filebot -script fn:amc --action copy --conflict skip -non-strict --log-file amc.log --output "D:/Temp" --filter "age < 10" --def artwork=n unsorted=y reporterror=y storereport=y seriesFormat="T:/{n}/Season {s}/{n} - {s00e00} - {t}" excludelist=amc.txt "ut_label=%L" "ut_state=%S" "ut_title=%N" "ut_kind=%K" "ut_file=%F" "ut_dir=%D"
How can I fix this, please. thank you.
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22923
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Just noticed filebot script not working

Post by rednoah »

This doesn't make sense. FileBot does not use the application install folder for any user data. It's all write-protected, so usually can't be written, so by default, FileBot wouldn't ever try to write user data there, as it can't work, and here we get an error because it indeed doesn't work:

Code: Select all

License Error: C:\Program Files (x86)\Filebot\FileBot_License_PX10392671.psm
:?: It's FileBot, not Filebot. Is this a copy & paste mistake when writing your post, or does the original error message really use a small b here?

:?: Did you perhaps make any modification of the default system configuration that you have neglected to mention in your original post?

:idea: Please read How to Request Help. A screenshot of the error message would have answered the first question, and filebot -script fn:sysenv output would have answered the second question.



:idea: The license is installed per-user. If you're using Scheduled Tasks, or are running qBT as a different user as a service, then you may need to re-configure your setup to ensure all your software is running as your normal user, so that FileBot is running as your normal user, so that it can always find the license that was installed for your normal user.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
IceQueen
Posts: 18
Joined: 28 Jul 2019, 11:08

Re: Just noticed filebot script not working

Post by IceQueen »

Hi,

Thanks for your help.

(1). That's pasted exactly as it was shown on the screen. I did not change any of the text. I faithfully copied and pasted the exact error from the cmd window. I would never sink to the level of tweaking an error message to misrepresent the truth.

(2). I won't ever touch Filebot's configuration ever again unless you specifically instruct me to. You put the fear of god into me after my first post. So, no, I did not mess with the configuration.

I copied the ini files and installed filebot on my test PC, then using notepad++ compared the ini files from a fresh install. Identical!

This PC sits in a corner doing it's thing and the only time I ever look at it is if something goes wrong. It was only because someone asked me about something that I checked it and found it wasn't working.

I image all of my PCs every day. So, I restored my PC to the day before the error started, which was 21st December 2019. Then compared the ini files with the backups I made earlier. Again they were identical.

However, it is now working properly. I ran filebot --license again and it activated successfully. Downloaded a file via uTorrent and it processed correctly.

I'm not going to make any assumptions on what the problem was. If the ini files on a clean install are identical to the ones in use, and I restore the system to when it was working and compare the files again and they are still identical, that would suggest to me that they were as I said they were - unmodified, and that I had not neglected to mention anything.

But, you're the expert and I'm just a noob, so who knows :)

And just for the sake of transparency;

Code: Select all

C:\Program Files\FileBot>filebot -script fn:sysenv
# Environment Variables #
USERDOMAIN_ROAMINGPROFILE: KODI-SERVER
LOCALAPPDATA: C:\Users\Kodi\AppData\Local
PROCESSOR_LEVEL: 6
USERDOMAIN: KODI-SERVER
LOGONSERVER: \\KODI-SERVER
PROMPT: $P$G
SESSIONNAME: Console
ALLUSERSPROFILE: C:\ProgramData
PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE: AMD64
PSModulePath: R:\WindowsPowerShell\Modules;C:\Program Files\WindowsPowerShell\Modules;C:\Windows\system32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\Modules
SystemDrive: C:
=ExitCode: 00000001
=C:: C:\Program Files\FileBot
APPDATA: C:\Users\Kodi\AppData\Roaming
USERNAME: Kodi
ProgramFiles(x86): C:\Program Files (x86)
CommonProgramFiles: C:\Program Files\Common Files
Path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Oracle\Java\javapath;C:\Windows\system32;C:\Windows;C:\Windows\System32\Wbem;C:\Windows\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\;C:\Windows\System32\OpenSSH\;C:\Program Files (x86)\NVIDIA Corporation\PhysX\Common;C:\Program Files\MySQL\MySQL Server 5.5\bin;C:\Program Files\FileBot\;C:\Users\Kodi\AppData\Local\Microsoft\WindowsApps;;C:\Program Files\FileBot\jre\bin
PATHEXT: .COM;.EXE;.BAT;.CMD;.VBS;.VBE;.JS;.JSE;.WSF;.WSH;.MSC;.CPL
DriverData: C:\Windows\System32\Drivers\DriverData
OS: Windows_NT
COMPUTERNAME: KODI-SERVER
PROCESSOR_REVISION: 9e0c
CommonProgramW6432: C:\Program Files\Common Files
ComSpec: C:\Windows\system32\cmd.exe
ProgramData: C:\ProgramData
ProgramW6432: C:\Program Files
DOTNET_CLI_TELEMETRY_OPTOUT: 1
HOMEPATH: \Users\Kodi
SystemRoot: C:\Windows
TEMP: D:\Temp2
HOMEDRIVE: C:
PROCESSOR_IDENTIFIER: Intel64 Family 6 Model 158 Stepping 12, GenuineIntel
USERPROFILE: C:\Users\Kodi
TMP: D:\Temp2
CommonProgramFiles(x86): C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files
ProgramFiles: C:\Program Files
PUBLIC: C:\Users\Public
NUMBER_OF_PROCESSORS: 8
windir: C:\Windows
=::: ::\


# Java System Properties #
sun.desktop: windows
awt.toolkit: sun.awt.windows.WToolkit
java.specification.version: 11
sun.cpu.isalist: amd64
sun.jnu.encoding: Cp1252
java.class.path: C:\Program Files\FileBot\jar\filebot.jar
net.filebot.AcoustID.fpcalc: C:\Program Files\FileBot\lib\fpcalc.exe
java.vm.vendor: Oracle Corporation
grape.root: C:\Users\Kodi\AppData\Roaming\FileBot\grape
useExtendedFileAttributes: true
sun.arch.data.model: 64
jna.library.path: C:\Program Files\FileBot\lib
user.variant:
java.vendor.url: http://java.oracle.com/
user.timezone:
jna.nounpack: true
os.name: Windows 10
java.vm.specification.version: 11
sun.net.client.defaultReadTimeout: 60000
jna.boot.library.path: C:\Program Files\FileBot\lib
sun.java.launcher: SUN_STANDARD
user.country: AU
sun.boot.library.path: C:\Program Files\FileBot\jre\bin
sun.java.command: C:\Program Files\FileBot\jar\filebot.jar -script fn:sysenv
jdk.debug: release
sun.cpu.endian: little
user.home: C:\Users\Kodi
user.language: en
sun.stderr.encoding: cp437
java.specification.vendor: Oracle Corporation
jdk.module.path: C:\Program Files\FileBot\jre\ext\modules\lib
java.version.date: 2019-01-15
java.home: C:\Program Files\FileBot\jre
file.separator: \
java.vm.compressedOopsMode: Zero based
line.separator:

sun.stdout.encoding: cp437
unixfs: false
useCreationDate: false
java.specification.name: Java Platform API Specification
java.vm.specification.vendor: Oracle Corporation
java.awt.graphicsenv: sun.awt.Win32GraphicsEnvironment
useNativeShell: false
http.agent: FileBot/4.8.5
user.script:
sun.management.compiler: HotSpot 64-Bit Tiered Compilers
java.runtime.version: 11.0.2+9
user.name: Kodi
sun.net.client.defaultConnectTimeout: 10000
path.separator: ;
java.net.useSystemProxies: true
os.version: 10.0
jna.nosys: true
java.runtime.name: OpenJDK Runtime Environment
file.encoding: Cp1252
java.vm.name: OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM
java.vendor.version: 18.9
java.vendor.url.bug: http://bugreport.java.com/bugreport/
java.io.tmpdir: C:\Users\Kodi\AppData\Roaming\FileBot\tmp
swing.crossplatformlaf: javax.swing.plaf.nimbus.NimbusLookAndFeel
java.version: 11.0.2
user.dir: C:\Program Files\FileBot
os.arch: amd64
java.vm.specification.name: Java Virtual Machine Specification
java.awt.printerjob: sun.awt.windows.WPrinterJob
sun.os.patch.level:
application.deployment: msi
java.library.path: C:\Program Files\FileBot\lib
java.vendor: Oracle Corporation
java.vm.info: mixed mode
java.vm.version: 11.0.2+9
application.dir: C:\Users\Kodi\AppData\Roaming\FileBot
sun.io.unicode.encoding: UnicodeLittle
org.apache.commons.logging.Log: org.apache.commons.logging.impl.NoOpLog
java.class.version: 55.0


# Arguments #
args[0] = -script
args[1] = fn:sysenv


Done ?(?????)?
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22923
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Just noticed filebot script not working

Post by rednoah »

Well, I suppose I'm glad it's just working again now. No worries. :D

Sorry, but I've got no clue what might have caused the original issue. That was the only plausible theory I had... Strange indeed... I'll try to add more detailed logging and error messages in upcoming revisions.



:idea: Adding a bit of technical exposition, when you install your license, it's just copied into a pre-defined file license.txt in the application data folder, so as long as the *.psm you pass in is readable, and the application data folder is writable, it should work:

Code: Select all

application.dir: C:\Users\Kodi\AppData\Roaming\FileBot
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
Post Reply