[thetvdb] languages tag broken

All your suggestions, requests and ideas for future development
Post Reply
kim
Power User
Posts: 1251
Joined: 15 May 2014, 16:17

[thetvdb] languages tag broken

Post by kim »

It looks like this is broken ?

Code: Select all

{languages}
it is always = to the used search language

same with

Code: Select all

TheTVDB.getSeriesInfo(series.id, Locale.ENGLISH).getLanguage()
if this is the same as
https://www.filebot.net/docs/api/src-ht ... l#line.612

and if not, why ?

btw: can you confirm we can't get country or original language from TheTVDB ?
they do add (or just check) the country
https://forums.thetvdb.com/viewtopic.ph ... it=country
(WOW 1+ year behind)

about "original title"
This is what the alias system is for, we usually use the title the series is most well known or had the majority of its production run under as the main title and add others as the aliases.
However the current site lacks tools to implement new aliases, and searching for aliases is also not supported.
Please be assured, it is not a site moderation or administration decision to ignore the original title. What you're seeing is most likely good old edition wars (however whitetigerx8 is probably not responsible, as that field is also broken and doesn't update.)
https://forums.thetvdb.com/viewtopic.ph ... le#p149286

Looks like TheTVDB is dying, why else have so many things not been fixed with the new website?
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22923
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [thetvdb] languages tag broken

Post by rednoah »

1.
For series, the {languages} is always the chose search language. AFAIK, TheTVDB never has supported anything akin to a dedicated "SpokenLanguages" metadata field like TheMovieDB has for movies.

AFAIK, the TheTVDB series record does not contain the information you need, so FileBot can't really do much to improve things there:
https://api.thetvdb.com/swagger#!/Series/get_series_id

:!: You will find various examples to get spoken language / country / certification by country / etc but that all applies to TheMovieDB / Movie Mode only.


2.
TheTVDB API v2 seems to be working reliably, although I think there's nothing being done other than bug fixing and keeping things working smoothly. As for TheTVDB Website v2 that indeed seems to not have panned that well. I've read about a v3 website rewrite / redesign on reddit, so v2 probably doesn't got any developer love anymore.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
kim
Power User
Posts: 1251
Joined: 15 May 2014, 16:17

Re: [thetvdb] languages tag broken

Post by kim »

Version 3 Is Live!
8. Origin Language and Country
Allowing a better experience for non-English users, and paving the way for true global access.
https://beta.thetvdb.com/blog/something_new

https://beta.thetvdb.com
kim
Power User
Posts: 1251
Joined: 15 May 2014, 16:17

Re: [thetvdb] languages tag broken

Post by kim »

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22923
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [thetvdb] languages tag broken

Post by rednoah »

Good News indeed! Glad to hear they've found a sustainable model.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
Michel
Posts: 5
Joined: 04 May 2020, 11:01

Re: [thetvdb] languages tag broken

Post by Michel »

Any update for a proper support of original series language in Filebot?

I would like to be able to rename files using the Plex format while using the original series name (e.g. "La casa de papel" and not "Money Heist"), while keeping --lang usage for the episode title.

Thanks for your work!
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22923
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [thetvdb] languages tag broken

Post by rednoah »

AFAIK, TheTVDB does not have an "original name" or "original language" field.


If you could somehow guess what "original language" a given file or episode might have based on the available information, then you could use the {localize} dynamic localization binding:
viewtopic.php?t=3761

e.g.

Code: Select all

filebot -list --q "Money Heist" --lang English --format "{localize.es.n} - {s00e00} - {t}"
La casa de papel - S01E01 - Do as Planned
...
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
Michel
Posts: 5
Joined: 04 May 2020, 11:01

Re: [thetvdb] languages tag broken

Post by Michel »

Thanks for you answer. So based on what you wrote, I guess there is no way to automate this behavior easily. Hopefully they will add support at some point in the future, but the feature has been asked like 10 years ago so I'm not hoping too much.

Thanks!
Michel
Posts: 5
Joined: 04 May 2020, 11:01

Re: [thetvdb] languages tag broken

Post by Michel »

Do you think it would be possible to add support for Wikidata in FileBot in the future?

They have some complementary information, such as the country of origin: https://www.wikidata.org/wiki/Q29647346
kim
Power User
Posts: 1251
Joined: 15 May 2014, 16:17

Re: [thetvdb] languages tag broken

Post by kim »

just use themoviedb (TV)

https://www.themoviedb.org/tv/71446-la- ... uage=es-ES

btw: themoviedb is default in kodi in the last 1,5 year because thetvdb is so unstable
Michel
Posts: 5
Joined: 04 May 2020, 11:01

Re: [thetvdb] languages tag broken

Post by Michel »

Interesting. However, sadly, either I'm doing something wrong or they're missing quite a lot of data.

When using this format for S01E01 (just for testing):

{primaryTitle} - {n} - {s00e00} - {t}

I'm getting:

Money Heist - Money Heist - S01E01 - Episode 1

I would have expected primaryTitle to be "La casa de papel", not "Money Heist". I've tried to read the series.properties.original_name and the value is empty.

Maybe that's the kind of information it would be valuable to complete / correct or allow correction using Wikidata, for instance. https://www.wikidata.org/wiki/Q29647346.

Or maybe I'm using the wrong field? I'm not completely sure on when to use primaryTitle, localize[languages[0]].n (not working here), and a third one I found on the forums I can't remember of.
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22923
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [thetvdb] languages tag broken

Post by rednoah »

TheMovieDB and TheMovieDB::TV are completely separate databases for all accounts and purposes. Lots of bindings will only work for Movie objects, TheMovieDB Movie objects in particular.



EDIT:

It seems that this currently "works", but that's by mistake and technically a bug, specific to TheMovieDB::TV, and makes things like {episodelist} not work correctly, but I guess I'll just leave it as is for now, until someone complains. :lol:

Code: Select all

{series.language}
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
kim
Power User
Posts: 1251
Joined: 15 May 2014, 16:17

Re: [thetvdb] languages tag broken

Post by kim »

you can try on (themoviedb TV)

Code: Select all

{localize[languages[0].ISO2].n}
or

Code: Select all

{localize[info.Language.toString()].n}
or

Code: Select all

{localize[series.language.toString()].n}
La casa de papel

Code: Select all

{localize[languages[0].ISO2].plex}
TV Shows/La casa de papel/Season 01/La casa de papel - S01E01 - Capítulo 1

btw: the easy way is use tvmaze
https://www.tvmaze.com/shows/27436/la-c ... l/episodes
La Casa de Papel - S01E01 - Efectuar lo acordado
Michel
Posts: 5
Joined: 04 May 2020, 11:01

Re: [thetvdb] languages tag broken

Post by Michel »

Awesome, thanks.

I'm now using the following format expression:

Code: Select all

{localize[languages[0].ISO2].n}/{episode.special ? 'Specials' : 'Season '+s.pad(2)}/{localize[languages[0].ISO2].n} - {episode.special ? 'S00E'+special.pad(2) : s00e00} - {t.replaceAll(/[`´‘’ʻ]/, /'/).replaceAll(/[!?.]+$/).replacePart(', Part $1')}{'.'+lang}
Post Reply