Page 1 of 1

On CLI how to see "tryout" rename before actually renaming?

Posted: 19 May 2016, 23:38
by rpgmaker
Hello everyone,

I'm just trying the CLI now and I'm wondering how can I see the renaming scheme that will be applied before applying it? I reviewed http://www.filebot.net/cli.html but I either missed it or the option wasn't clear enough there. Is there a way to do this?

The GUI does this by default and it's very useful because many times, by default, the app is about to apply the same filename to several files (I know that it doesn't actually get to do this even if I went ahead with the rename) which means that something in the filename is throwing it off, sometimes I use another DB and it fixes it. Other times I have to rename the files using another application like pyRenamer to fix the filenames and then use filebot if needed. In any case it's useful to see what the app is about to do. Any help would be appreciated.

Re: On CLI how to see "tryout" rename before actually renami

Posted: 20 May 2016, 06:14
by rednoah
I think you mean --action test

Code: Select all

--action test

Re: On CLI how to see "tryout" rename before actually renami

Posted: 20 May 2016, 11:27
by rpgmaker
rednoah wrote:I think you mean --action test

Code: Select all

--action test
Indeed! But I think that action isn't listed here: http://www.filebot.net/cli.html it should be added. I also think that basic mass renaming should be added to the app, it'd help a lot with screwed up filenames.

Re: On CLI how to see "tryout" rename before actually renami

Posted: 20 May 2016, 15:22
by rednoah
1.
The primary reference for command-line options is the built-in command-line help:

Code: Select all

filebot -help
2.
If something is not working as well as it should be, feel free to post the logs.

Re: On CLI how to see "tryout" rename before actually renami

Posted: 20 May 2016, 16:55
by rpgmaker
rednoah wrote:2.
If something is not working as well as it should be, feel free to post the logs.
What I meant was, to simply have a basic "replace" capability so any ridiculous characters and stuff that throw off filebot could be removed from the filenames. Right now if the scrapper doesn't get the filename (because the filename is screwed up) you have to use an additional app. With that functionality there wouldn't be a need for an additional app.

Re: On CLI how to see "tryout" rename before actually renami

Posted: 20 May 2016, 18:18
by rednoah
GUI => Generic File Mode
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=2072

CLI => Replace Script
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=5#p2100

Re: On CLI how to see "tryout" rename before actually renami

Posted: 20 May 2016, 21:32
by rpgmaker
rednoah wrote:GUI => Generic File Mode
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=2072

CLI => Replace Script
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=5#p2100
Nice, thanks!