Page 1 of 1
simple replace if better quality
Posted: 04 Apr 2017, 06:52
by brinkdadrink
I have recently moved the amc script to the rtorrent instead of post bulk.
When I move the files to another server I dont need to rename or lookup the show/movie. I would like to add if new / conflict auto (overwrite if better quality).
I am currently using the amc script for this but I think would be better to skip the lookup / rename process.
Thank you for your help and this great program. I have reading a lot of the posts and they have been very helpful.
Re: simple replace if better quality
Posted: 04 Apr 2017, 07:00
by rednoah
The amc script is indeed a bad idea if you're processing files that have already been processed. You can mirror files instantly as long as xattr metadata is enabled and working.
Here's a few examples:
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=4788
e.g.
Code: Select all
filebot -rename -r /path/to/input --db xattr --action copy --output /path/to/output --format "{plex}" --conflict auto
Re: simple replace if better quality
Posted: 05 Apr 2017, 08:15
by brinkdadrink
that is great. couple of quick questions.
I read a couple of posts saying that -rename doesnt mean it will try and rename. That is the case here?
--db xattr ---- This is if xattr metadata is enabled. Does that mean on my first original with renaming amc script? Also how would i enable that?
lastly on the linked post. should this script
Move old movies
have a --action copy in it?
Thank you very much for your hard work. will be hitting the tip jar

Re: simple replace if better quality
Posted: 05 Apr 2017, 09:30
by rednoah
1.
-rename refers to "rename" mode, but the actual "Rename A to B" operation depends on
--action and could be anything:
Code: Select all
--action [move, copy, keeplink, symlink, hardlink, reflink, test]
2.
xattr is enabled by default and written when you "rename" files. But not all filesystems support xattr.
Here's how it works:
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=324#p27518
3.
--action move is default, so this command will recursively select all xattr-tagged movies in . that are older than 1970 and then move them into the "./Old Movies" folder using the default format for each filename:
Code: Select all
filebot -rename -r . --db xattr --output 'Old Movies' --filter 'movie && y < 1970'
Re: simple replace if better quality
Posted: 08 Apr 2017, 16:35
by brinkdadrink
Im just looking to move and if the file that might be there exists already check if the quality is better and move if so.
Code: Select all
/media/temp/SomeFolder/movie_name/movie_name.mkv
to
Code: Select all
/media/SomeFolder/movie_name/movie_name.mkv
Something like this. That way i keep the folder structure and it doesnt rename anything. just checks quality of the file against quality of the destination file.
Code: Select all
filebot --output "/media" -action move --conflict auto "/media/temp" --def "exec=chmod 775 -R '{folder}' && chown -R user:group '{folder}'"
Re: simple replace if better quality
Posted: 08 Apr 2017, 16:52
by rednoah
1.
brinkdadrink wrote:Im just looking to move and if the file that might be there exists already check if the quality is better and move if so.
--action move --conflict auto will do that.
2.
--def exec is a amc script parameter. It has no effect when added to simple
-rename calls.