Page 1 of 1

What variables do I use?

Posted: 15 Jul 2017, 23:59
by Bilious72
I'm trying to create a new preset. I've been using "Name" "Release Year" for a long time, but then I find I'm manually going back and adding the resolution (480p, 720p, 1080p, 4k) and the audio format and number of channels (MP3, DTS, Atmos, AAC, AC3, etc.). Is there a way I can create preset to do that automatically so that my final product is something like Avatar (2009) 1080p AC3 5.1 ? It would save me a ton of time as I currently start the movie in VLC, go to "tools" "codec information" and manually add it to the file and folder names.

Thanks :)

Re: What variables do I use?

Posted: 16 Jul 2017, 00:19
by Bilious72
I think I figured it out {ny} {vf} {ac} {channels}. Is that correct? Will the audio codec always be in caps (I hope)?

Re: What variables do I use?

Posted: 16 Jul 2017, 02:22
by kim
looks correct, but maybe more like this

Code: Select all

{ny} ({allOf{vf}{ac}{channels}.join(', ')})
or

Code: Select all

{ny} {allOf{vf}{ac}{channels}}
"always be in caps", yes... and if not you can use e.g.

Code: Select all

{ac.lower()} or {ac.upper()}

Re: What variables do I use?

Posted: 16 Jul 2017, 03:23
by Bilious72
Thank you very much. I will give those a try. I'm psyched about how much time this will save me on hundreds of thousands of files.

Re: What variables do I use?

Posted: 16 Jul 2017, 03:31
by rednoah
You can find all the available variables in the Bindings and MediaInfo views:
viewtopic.php?t=4285

{ac} will probably be all caps, but if it's not, then you can always make it all uppercase, as kim has explained. ;)