[FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Any questions? Need some help?
Post Reply
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 16978
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by rednoah » 15 Aug 2019, 11:32

agoodpub wrote:
15 Aug 2019, 10:35
Hi I purchased a licence a couple of years ago through the windows store.
If you have purchased FileBot via the Microsoft Store, then you will need to install FileBot via the Microsoft Store. Your Microsoft Account remembers your purchase, so you neither have, nor need, a license file.

agoodpub wrote:
15 Aug 2019, 10:35
I downloaded the latest version from your website and it is saying I need to get a licence.
The standalone installer requires a standalone license purchased via Paddle. Microsoft Store / Mac App Store / Paddle purchases are distinct and not to be confused with each other.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

agoodpub
Posts: 3
Joined: 15 Aug 2019, 10:26

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by agoodpub » 15 Aug 2019, 16:25

rednoah wrote:
15 Aug 2019, 11:32
agoodpub wrote:
15 Aug 2019, 10:35
Hi I purchased a licence a couple of years ago through the windows store.
If you have purchased FileBot via the Microsoft Store, then you will need to install FileBot via the Microsoft Store. Your Microsoft Account remembers your purchase, so you neither have, nor need, a license file.



That's what I thought, but it only gives me the option to buy it for £33.49 - even though I bought it 2 years ago. Maybe the option I bought was only a fixed-time licence? Except that it was working until I had to do the restore.

If I go to the "Purchased" tab in my account it shows up as been purchased on July 7th 2017.

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 16978
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by rednoah » 15 Aug 2019, 19:09

agoodpub wrote:
15 Aug 2019, 16:25
Maybe the option I bought was only a fixed-time licence?
The Microsoft Store / Mac App Store / iOS App Store / Google Play Store all universally only support a simple life-time purchase model. There is no such thing as a fixed-time license, upgrade license, etc. There's no way to cancel or refund a purchase either (for developers at least).

agoodpub wrote:
15 Aug 2019, 16:25
If I go to the "Purchased" tab in my account it shows up as been purchased on July 7th 2017.
Please contact Microsoft Support so they can check your account to figure out whats wrong.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

agoodpub
Posts: 3
Joined: 15 Aug 2019, 10:26

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by agoodpub » 16 Aug 2019, 09:08

I’ll check with them as you suggest.

Thanks for the clarification that it was a one-off payment rather than a yearly subscription.

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 16978
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by rednoah » 16 Aug 2019, 09:47

agoodpub wrote:
16 Aug 2019, 09:08
Thanks for the clarification that it was a one-off payment rather than a yearly subscription.
Yes, I can confirm that, and not just for FileBot, but for ever single application on every single app store platform.

:idea: The yearly subscription license model is something that FileBot introduced as an alternative for the store (which is disliked by many) in general, and as a low-cost option for new users that just need FileBot for a few days.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

sblack55
Posts: 22
Joined: 23 Sep 2015, 18:43

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by sblack55 » 16 Aug 2019, 21:17

I just purchased a new 1-year license, but am getting the following messages when installing on my Synology NAS as directed:

Code: Select all

sudo -H -u sc-tvheadend filebot --license *.psm
Password:
Activate License <....….>
Write [FileBot License <....….> (Valid-Until: 2020-08-23)] to [/volume1/@appstore/filebot/data/.license]
License Error: /volume1/@appstore/filebot/data/.license

sblack55
Posts: 22
Joined: 23 Sep 2015, 18:43

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by sblack55 » 16 Aug 2019, 22:08

Removed "-u sc-tvheadend" from the command and it worked. admin is the owner of the .license file, so I guess sc-tvheadend doesn't have permissions to overwrite it. Perhaps I should chown it to sc-tvheadend???

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 16978
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by rednoah » 17 Aug 2019, 05:22

Yes, the order of log entries would suggest that it couldn't write the license file in its own application home folder. If the application home folder is not readable / writable, then FileBot can fail in strange an unexpected ways.

On Synology, it's configured to use the same license file by default for all users, and I presume that default location is only writable to the default admin user, but should be readable by all users that execute filebot.

On Synology, there will be a unique application data sub-folder for caches and such for each user, so I don't think you have to change any permissions.


EDIT:

I've updated the Synology package scripts to make sure the .license file is initialized with world-read-writable permissions.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

graveangel
Posts: 5
Joined: 21 Aug 2019, 17:54

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by graveangel » 21 Aug 2019, 18:03

I can't activate my license under my VPS, tested on my local machine and it worked but not on the VPS.. command used filebot --license licensefile.psm
I am on Zorin which is an ubuntu base distribution.

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 16978
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by rednoah » 22 Aug 2019, 00:23

graveangel wrote:
21 Aug 2019, 18:03
I can't activate my license under my VPS
What does the console output say?
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

graveangel
Posts: 5
Joined: 21 Aug 2019, 17:54

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by graveangel » 22 Aug 2019, 00:42

rednoah wrote:
22 Aug 2019, 00:23
graveangel wrote:
21 Aug 2019, 18:03
I can't activate my license under my VPS
What does the console output say?
I get License Error: null

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 16978
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by rednoah » 22 Aug 2019, 00:46

What is the exact command you're using to install the license? Are you sure that you're using a file that is actually a license file? Please PM me the exact license text you're trying to install. You can use the cat /path/to/file.psm command to display the license text.

:arrow: How did you install FileBot? What version of FileBot are you using? Run filebot -script fn:sysinfo for details.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

graveangel
Posts: 5
Joined: 21 Aug 2019, 17:54

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by graveangel » 22 Aug 2019, 02:02

PM sent

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 16978
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by rednoah » 22 Aug 2019, 03:01

graveangel wrote:
22 Aug 2019, 02:02
PM sent
You're using an HTML document as license. How? Why? :lol:


A license key looks like this:

Code: Select all

-----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
Hash: SHA256

Product: FileBot
Name: …
Email: …
Order: …
Issue-Date: …
Valid-Until: …
-----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----

…
-----END PGP SIGNATURE-----
e.g.
Image
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

graveangel
Posts: 5
Joined: 21 Aug 2019, 17:54

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by graveangel » 22 Aug 2019, 03:13

When I run the command cat /path/to/file.psm that's what I get.. but if I open the .psm file with a text editor it looks like the picture you posted.

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 16978
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by rednoah » 22 Aug 2019, 03:39

graveangel wrote:
22 Aug 2019, 03:13
When I run the command cat /path/to/file.psm that's what I get.. but if I open the .psm file with a text editor it looks like the picture you posted.
cat is the absolute truth to what the file content is. That is what FileBot sees. That is what all programs see.


:idea: You're most likely being confused by some special web interface. You can ask your VPS provider how to upload files, or you can just use scp, or copy & paste into your SSH session.


e.g. paste license file via SSH:

Code: Select all

echo '
<paste license>
' > /path/to/license.psm
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

graveangel
Posts: 5
Joined: 21 Aug 2019, 17:54

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by graveangel » 22 Aug 2019, 04:16

Yes, that worked, transferring the license file using scp via ssh... thank you very much.

BigSAR
Posts: 1
Joined: 28 Aug 2019, 13:48

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by BigSAR » 28 Aug 2019, 13:49

(Posting here so I can send a PM.)

jp42
Posts: 1
Joined: 31 Aug 2019, 19:28

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by jp42 » 31 Aug 2019, 19:42

Hi - I just tried to run Filebot and it says my license is expired (v4.8.5 on MacOS 10.14.6)

I tried searching for my original receipt (because I can't recall how or when I purchased the license). I thought I bought a lifetime license?

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 16978
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by rednoah » 01 Sep 2019, 05:24

You have most likely purchased a 1 year license. If you give me your order number, then I can double check for you.

:idea: You can open the license file with a text editor to see order number / purchase date / valid-until date.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

md1010
Posts: 1
Joined: 07 Sep 2019, 22:35

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by md1010 » 07 Sep 2019, 22:41

Need to post before PM?

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 16978
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by rednoah » 10 Sep 2019, 06:54

md1010 wrote:
07 Sep 2019, 22:41
Need to post before PM?
Your license has been re-issued and re-sent to your correct email address.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

BrandedTamarasu
Posts: 1
Joined: 26 Sep 2019, 23:10

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by BrandedTamarasu » 26 Sep 2019, 23:11

posting so i can PM

bob
Posts: 1
Joined: 25 Oct 2019, 06:24

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by bob » 25 Oct 2019, 06:29

post to pm

tunibeta
Posts: 1
Joined: 29 Oct 2019, 15:21

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by tunibeta » 29 Oct 2019, 15:25

Hi,

Somebody can help me for activate my licence filebot on windows 10 ?

i have only the pgp email but not the psm file

thanks

Post Reply