Making a preset for photo date created (or modified)

Support for Windows users
skylight1

Making a preset for photo date created (or modified)

Post by skylight1 »

Hi there,

I am a little new to presets in Filebot, and am looking for help in renaming a large collection of photos. I started with a basic preset that would use folder name and create an image order sequence in that given collection:

Code: Select all

{folder.name} - {i.pad(3)}
Then I looked to add information, when available in file metadata, like camera model and date photo taken:

{folder.name} - {i.pad(3)}{" | $dt.format('yyyy-MM-dd')"}{" | $camera.model"}
This works perfectly for the camera model, but not for the date. I presume the $ does not work for dt, or that my syntax is incorrect, but I couldn't quite figure out what was wrong there. When I use this without the $ in front of dt.format, it works, but a huge % of my pictures don't contain date values for that call, and therefore no date value is put into the file name. I then came across a forum post below which detailed how to alternatively use date modified, presumably because this was a more accurate representation of when the photo was taken compared to OS date created (but this is using CLI which I am not confident in attempting at this time). I thought this was an even more elegant solution as I'd prefer to have a date in the file name - it's more important to me that a date is there, whereas camera model is just optional added info. Is there an easy way to implement this in a one line preset like I've been working on? Many thanks in advance for any help anyone can provide here, and apologies if this has been answered elsewhere. I have been looking for other posts or guides to no avail.

Ideal format: [folder name] - [# in sequence] [ | date photo taken/modified] [ | camera model]

This way, the pipe separators are only injected when metadata values are found.