[Microsoft Store] FileBot does not open

Support for Windows 10 users and the Microsoft Store package
Post Reply
DreMarceaux
Posts: 3
Joined: 24 Aug 2018, 21:07

[Microsoft Store] FileBot does not open

Post by DreMarceaux » 24 Aug 2018, 21:16

I literally just bought the Windows 10 Version of this application less than an hour ago. For whatever reason it will not open up on the computer that I use the most, which is in my bedroom. I went to the computer in my living room, logged into my Microsoft account & installed Filebot onto the system there & it worked perfectly. Need help correcting this issue. I click on the app & nothing happens. I don't want to have to go to my living room every time I need to use this product.

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 16615
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Just Bought Win10 version, need Help

Post by rednoah » 25 Aug 2018, 04:14

1.
Please post a screenshot of what you see. Does it FileBot icon appear in the tark bar? Does it appear and then disappear quickly?


2.
Please open CMD and run filebot -script fn:sysinfo and post the output. Also, try to run the GUI via CMD by running filebot (without arguments) and see what happens. If there's warnings on the console it might give us a clue as to what's going on. Most likely a 3rd party software (e.g. some kind of overzealous anti-virus) interfering with FileBot in unexpected ways.


3.
There might also be clue in the filebot log. The FAQ will tell you where you can find the logs.


Please provide more information if you can:
viewtopic.php?f=5&t=1868
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

DreMarceaux
Posts: 3
Joined: 24 Aug 2018, 21:07

Re: [Microsoft Store] FileBot does not open

Post by DreMarceaux » 25 Aug 2018, 21:12

1. Include System Information:
  • Windows 10 Home Edition
    Version 1803
    OS Build 17134.228
    Processor Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU G3240 @ 3.10GHz
    RAM 4GB
    System Type 64-bit OS, x64-based processor
2. How did you install FileBot?
  • Bought it from the Windows Store
3. Does it FileBot icon appear in the task bar?
  • Yes
4. Does it appear and then disappear quickly?
  • It just sits there as if it's open & running, & yet when I put my mouse over it, it's either just a blank white or black canvas (see pics). If I actually click on the program it'll just "minimize" from the small little preview that the pictures display
Image
Image

5. Please open CMD and run filebot -script fn:sysinfo and post the output.
This is the information that pulls up:

Microsoft Windows [Version 10.0.17134.228]
(c) 2018 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\DreWi>filebot -script fn:sysinfo
FileBot 4.8.4 (r5829)
JNA Native: 5.2.2
MediaInfo: 18.05
7-Zip-JBinding: 9.20
Chromaprint: 1.4.2
Extended Attributes: OK
Unicode Filesystem: OK
Script Bundle: 2018-08-14 (r534)
Groovy: 2.5.1
JRE: Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment 10.0.2
JVM: 64-bit Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM
CPU/MEM: 2 Core / 1004 MB Max Memory / 40 MB Used Memory
OS: Windows 10 (amd64)
Package: APPX
License: Microsoft Store License
Done ?(?????)?

6. Try to run the GUI via CMD by running filebot (without arguments) and see what happens:
  • I don't even know what this statement means or how to go about doing this. I'm not as computer savvy as most of your users, sorry.
7. If there's warnings on the console it might give us a clue as to what's going on.
  • Nothing pops up giving me any indication of any type of warning
8. Most likely a 3rd party software (e.g. some kind of overzealous anti-virus) interfering with FileBot in unexpected ways.
  • I have BitDefender Total Security 2018. This program has never blocked anything before that wasn't some kind of malware, spyware, trojan, or any other type of security risk. Not sure why it would (if it is in fact doing it) block a file renaming program bought from the Windows Store
9. There might also be clue in the filebot log.
  • Going to be honest, I went to the FAQ & a lot of that stuff, to me, is a foreign language. I did come across this in your FAQ; "%USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local\Packages\PointPlanck.FileBot_*\LocalCache\Roaming\FileBot", but I have no idea as to where I should put this information so that I can be of more help, again, sorry
The ONLY thing that I can think of, & maybe it is just as simple as this, I don't know. But, in the attached pictures, I took a photo of the Task Manager, & I noticed that it says that FileBot.launcher is running a 32-bit, my system is a 64-bit. In your FAQ I came across this:
  • "If you are using 64-bit Java you must install 64-bit FileBot. If you are using 32-bit Java you must install 32-bit FileBot. If you have installed 64-bit Windows and 64-bit FileBot and 32-bit Java, the java process will be in 32-bit compatibility mode and the native libraries won't work. So uninstall 32-bit Java and then only install the latest 64-bit Java and latest 64-bit FileBot."

Image

If this is the problem, where can I get the 64-bit version since the Microsoft Store is the one that downloaded the 32-bit one onto my computer?

DreMarceaux
Posts: 3
Joined: 24 Aug 2018, 21:07

Re: [Microsoft Store] FileBot does not open

Post by DreMarceaux » 26 Aug 2018, 03:18

UPDATE:
  • I went to the app that I had pinned within my Windows start menu, right clicked, & chose App Settings. Windows then took me to the settings for FileBot. I chose to click on the "Reset" option rather than the "Repair". Windows 10 did whatever it does in the background for the app & then removed it from my computer. I then went back into the Windows Store, & since I already owned this product it let me re-install it, added it back to my start menu, clicked on it & now it's working. My best guess is that it wasn't communicating for whatever reason. I also deleted the previous Java SE Runtime that was installed & downloaded Version 8 Update 181 prior to resetting the app. Not sure if that played a part in anything or not, either way, product is working as intended.

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 16615
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [Microsoft Store] FileBot does not open

Post by rednoah » 26 Aug 2018, 04:05

Please open CMD just like you did with the filebot -script fn:sysinfo command, but instead just type filebot:

Code: Select all

filebot
Image

This will launch the FileBot GUI but you will also see console output if something is going awry.



EDIT:

Nevermind. I guess you fixed it. Though I'm not quite sure how. My theory was that some anti-virus or graphics tool is interfering with FileBot
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

Post Reply