Plex Renaming CLI works but not like the graphical interface

Support for Ubuntu and other Desktop Linux distributions
Post Reply
wescravn
Posts: 3
Joined: 08 Oct 2017, 11:28

Plex Renaming CLI works but not like the graphical interface

Post by wescravn »

Originally I was using filebot on the mac, but have recently decided to try it on linux, and it does not work the same way.

My linux server is setup so all my movies goto /media/movies. When I used the filebot originally on Mac with the {plex} naming, it would just goto /media/Movies, and then have the proper movie directories and that was acceptable.
ie: Original /media/movies/The.Darkness.2017
New: /media/Movies/The Darkness (2017)

When I issue the following command on linux
filebot -rename --format {plex} --db TheMovieDB *

The following occurs
[MOVE] From [/media/movies/Paint.It.Black.2016.WEB-DL.x264-FGT/Paint.It.Black.2016.WEB-DL.x264-FGT.mp4] to [/media/movies/Paint.It.Black.2016.WEB-DL.x264-FGT/Movies/Paint It Black (2016)/Paint It Black (2016).mp4]

Can anyone help me achieve the same behavior I had with the mac client?

Thanks In Advance

T. Williamson
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22923
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Plex Renaming CLI works but not like the graphical interface

Post by rednoah »

Leaving --output blank is not recommended unless you're happy with the default value, which is the current working directory. It works the same way on all platforms.

I recommend setting the --output folder:

Code: Select all

filebot -rename *.mp4 --db TheMovieDB --output /media --format {plex}
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
wescravn
Posts: 3
Joined: 08 Oct 2017, 11:28

Re: Plex Renaming CLI works but not like the graphical interface

Post by wescravn »

Thanks Rednoah. I'm going to try it out and see if that solves the problem for me.
wescravn
Posts: 3
Joined: 08 Oct 2017, 11:28

Re: Plex Renaming CLI works but not like the graphical interface

Post by wescravn »

I used filebot -rename * --db TheMovieDB --output /media --format {plex} without the .mp4 as I have all types of formats including subtitles, and that worked.

Only issue is it says it's moving the files, but the files were still left over in the main directory. Is there another parameter I need to use?
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22923
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Plex Renaming CLI works but not like the graphical interface

Post by rednoah »

It can't successfully move files and leave them in the original location. It'll either move them, so they don't exist in the original location, or fail. What does the console output say?
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
Post Reply