java.lang.IllegalStateException: Receipt Hash: IOMACAddress

Support for macOS users
Post Reply
beaulen
Posts: 6
Joined: 01 Sep 2020, 03:11

java.lang.IllegalStateException: Receipt Hash: IOMACAddress

Post by beaulen »

I recently bought FileBot from the Apple App Store and it seems to do many things, but not rename files. When I try to rename the files I get an error message that says

Code: Select all

java.lang.IllegalStateException: Receipt Hash: IOMACAddress
I downloaded the Mac version from here before buying at the Apple App Store, and I can't think of any other reasons why this might be happening.

I've searched for the terms in the error message and haven't had much luck.

Anyone have any idea for how to address this error?

Image
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22994
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: IOMACAddress error?

Post by rednoah »

:?: Are you using an Apple Mac or a Hackintosh / Virtual Machine? The latter might explain strange Mac App Store issues.


:?: What version of macOS / FileBot are you using?


:idea: The error message indicates that your machine does not have a primary network interface; which would be most strange. What does ifconfig say?


:!: If the purchase is recent, then I recommend contacting Apple for a refund immediately.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
beaulen
Posts: 6
Joined: 01 Sep 2020, 03:11

Re: IOMACAddress error?

Post by beaulen »

Thank you for the reply!

I have a mid-2015 MacBook Pro, MacOS 10.15.6, and FileBot 4.9.1.

ifconfig tells me a lot of things that I don't know how to read or report back...
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22994
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: IOMACAddress error?

Post by rednoah »

beaulen wrote: 01 Sep 2020, 20:28 ifconfig tells me a lot of things that I don't know how to read or report back...
You can use copy & paste or screenshots:
viewtopic.php?t=1868

:idea: We expect there to be one network interface named en0. That being said, although ifconfig might explain why it isn't working, that probably won't lead to a technical solution, especially not in the near-term, since the App Store edition cannot be modified or updated easily.

:!: Best to get a refund from Apple right away if possible. The only sure-thing work-around I can think of is using a different Mac computer. Since it works for most, chances are that it'll work for you if you use a different Mac computer.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
beaulen
Posts: 6
Joined: 01 Sep 2020, 03:11

Re: IOMACAddress error?

Post by beaulen »

Code: Select all

en2: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
	options=400<CHANNEL_IO>
	ether 4c:32:75:92:a4:43 
	inet6 fe80:: 18d4:9fa0:9d01:7456%en2 prefixlen 64 secured scopeid 0x4 
	inet 10.0.1.28 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 10.0.1.255
	nd6 options=201<PERFORMNUD,DAD>
	media: autoselect
	status: active
en0: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
	options=460<TSO4,TSO6,CHANNEL_IO>
	ether 82:17:0b:7e:33:c0 
	media: autoselect <full-duplex>
	status: inactive

Hmm. Inactive seems significant. I'll see if I can poke around and see if I can make it active. I don't know if it makes a difference but I am only using a wireless network.
Last edited by beaulen on 02 Sep 2020, 03:24, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22994
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: IOMACAddress error?

Post by rednoah »

en0 should be the primary network interface even if it's not actively being being used. status: inactive is probably the reason why it doesn't work. Did you manually disable the network interface at some point? This could be the cause of the problem.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
beaulen
Posts: 6
Joined: 01 Sep 2020, 03:11

Re: IOMACAddress error?

Post by beaulen »

I don't know how to disable an interface. When I looked up interfaces I found an Apple utility called Network Utility that tells me that en0 is a Thunderbolt interface, so is en1. en2 is my WiFi connection.
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22994
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: IOMACAddress error?

Post by rednoah »

The Network ➔ Configure ➔ Make Service Active action might do the trick:
Image


:idea: Removing all network interfaces other than your primary Wi-Fi might also be worth a try, or perhaps just changing the Service Order will do the trick. Also, you might need to re-login into Mac App Store and re-install your Mac App Store applications whenever your primary network interface MAC address changes, because Apple uses that as a hardware identifier.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
beaulen
Posts: 6
Joined: 01 Sep 2020, 03:11

Re: java.lang.IllegalStateException: Receipt Hash: IOMACAddress

Post by beaulen »

I made all the other interfaces inactive, and now WiFi is the only active interface. ifconfig tells me that en0 is inactive, and that en2 is active. It really likes assigning WiFi to en2.
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22994
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: java.lang.IllegalStateException: Receipt Hash: IOMACAddress

Post by rednoah »

beaulen wrote: 02 Sep 2020, 04:28 I made all the other interfaces inactive, and now WiFi is the only active interface.
What happens if you make all interfaces active?
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
beaulen
Posts: 6
Joined: 01 Sep 2020, 03:11

Re: java.lang.IllegalStateException: Receipt Hash: IOMACAddress

Post by beaulen »

I'll try that!

I found that I have a Mac that can run FileBot and successfully make the changes, so I'll just use that other machine for this work. I'd like to figure out why this happens, though.
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22994
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: java.lang.IllegalStateException: Receipt Hash: IOMACAddress

Post by rednoah »

I assume this is quite rare, but if you do find a solution or workaround on the original Mac. Please report back. Someone will eventually run into the same problem.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
Post Reply