FileBot Node not processing files: "No files selected for processing" error

Support for Synology NAS, QNAP NAS and other Embedded Linux systems
Post Reply
qntoine
Posts: 3
Joined: 19 Jan 2020, 01:51

FileBot Node not processing files: "No files selected for processing" error

Post by qntoine » 19 Jan 2020, 02:08

Hello everyone,

I finally decided to buy a license and install FileBot on my Synology 918+.
I installed the FileBot Node package and did a first run (using reflinks), which worked well.

Unfortunately, I forgot to activate Strict mode so that some media files were not correctly identified.
No big deal, I just deleted the freshly created reflinks thinking I could just run FileBot Node.

But instead I am getting an error message saying that no files have been selected for processing, with or without Strict mode.
Pastebin is here: https://pastebin.com/HWTaZLS0
Screenshot: https://snipboard.io/Ti4W8H.jpg

My guess is that FileBot keeps a history of processed files and will ignore them on future runs?
Nice but how do I delete that history on Synology, or how do I fix that issue?

Overall, although FileBot Node is great it is a bit different from the UI I used on Windows and Linux in the past and seems to be more for batch-processing than for fine-tuning.
What is the recommended way to run FileBot on a Synology? Node or CLI?


Thanks in advance for your help!

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 17470
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: FileBot Node not processing files: "No files selected for processing" error

Post by rednoah » 19 Jan 2020, 09:31

Well, either that folder is empty, or it appears empty due to permissions, or perhaps all files are already on the exclude list.


:idea: I'd create a new share for testing. Check if that works. Once we have an input folder that works, and one that doesn't work, we can systematically narrow down what's different.


:idea: I'd add the share as network drive on my Desktop, and then use the GUI. If you want to reflink, then you need to run locally though, in which case I'd do things via Terminal via SSH: viewtopic.php?t=4398


:idea: FileBot Node is indeed designed as a compliment to the Desktop GUI, for headless automation, and not as a replacement: viewtopic.php?t=2733
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

qntoine
Posts: 3
Joined: 19 Jan 2020, 01:51

Re: FileBot Node not processing files: "No files selected for processing" error

Post by qntoine » 19 Jan 2020, 12:41

Hello,

Thank you for your reply.

1) After investigation, I found the culprit: under the "Exclude list" setting, there was a ".excludes" inscription in the field. I am not really sure where that list is stored exactly, but at least by removing it, it worked!

2) I used reflinks because I saw it was recommended on a Btrfs volume, but should I just use hardlinks? What are the benefits or inconveniences of reflinks compared to hardlinks?

3) Understood about the specificities of Filebot Node, thank you. As I have a universal license, I will use the GUI and / or CLI as well for more detailed tasks!

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 17470
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: FileBot Node not processing files: "No files selected for processing" error

Post by rednoah » 19 Jan 2020, 13:17

1.
Please read the amc script manual in detail. Disabling the exclude list might get you banned for abuse, if you accidental end up processing the same files over and over in an infinite loop.


2.
I'd stick with reflinks. Reading up on what all these *links are is probably a good idea as well though. ;)
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

qntoine
Posts: 3
Joined: 19 Jan 2020, 01:51

Re: FileBot Node not processing files: "No files selected for processing" error

Post by qntoine » 19 Jan 2020, 13:21

1. Well noted, thank you! I just removed it once to process all files and added it back right away ;)

2. Ok great I will stick with it, thank you! I tried to read up the differences between different *links, sym and hard are fine but I didn't really get the difference with ref except that it seems better for Btrfs volumes that support it. I will trust the experts' opinion on that and continue my own research then ;)

Post Reply