FileBot-node Service on QNAP

Support for Synology NAS, QNAP NAS and other Embedded Linux systems
Post Reply
yeahbut
Posts: 3
Joined: 18 Nov 2018, 05:15

FileBot-node Service on QNAP

Post by yeahbut »

hi there,

Just purchased a license, for use on a QNAP TS-453Pro and FileBot works well.

However, the filebot node service does not start automatically. Is this a common issue? I have no problems with the install or setup, just that I had to:

Code: Select all

      cd /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/.qpkg/filebot-node
      sh start
To get the FileBot-node service running. It's not a huge issue, as I usually only have a restart when there's a firmware upgrade, so not a big deal at all.

Thanks.
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22923
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: FileBot-node Service on QNAP

Post by rednoah »

It should start automatically. QNAP should be calling filebot-node-service.sh start on startup, so you can start debugging from there.

filebot-node-service.sh does call start script like this, so you should be able to find some information in the filebot-node.log file:

Code: Select all

"$QPKG_ROOT/start" > "$QPKG_ROOT/$QPKG_NAME.log" 2>&1 &
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
yeahbut
Posts: 3
Joined: 18 Nov 2018, 05:15

Re: FileBot-node Service on QNAP

Post by yeahbut »

The last line of the log file:

Code: Select all

/share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/.qpkg/filebot-node/start: line 26: node: command not found
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22923
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: FileBot-node Service on QNAP

Post by rednoah »

There's the problem. Somehow node is not available in the $PATH when QNAP is calling it. Best to check with the QNAP people as to why node is not working.

Here's some general pointers on how to debug $PATH issues on Linux:
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=6084
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
yeahbut
Posts: 3
Joined: 18 Nov 2018, 05:15

Re: FileBot-node Service on QNAP

Post by yeahbut »

Thanks, It's not the QNAP Node install, which I believe is broken anyway.

I am using the QNAPClub.eu Node.qpkg.

I will refer to them or just make my own version of node and install that for starters.

Many thanks.
Post Reply