Invalid usage: output folder must be separate from input arguments

Running FileBot from the console, Groovy scripting, shell scripts, etc
hakoreh

Invalid usage: output folder must be separate from input arguments

Post by hakoreh »

I'm new to the command line scene, usually I manually rename with Filebot.

I used this line in a script -

Code: Select all

filebot -script fn:amc --output "X:\Filebot" --action duplicate -non-strict "X:\Completed" --log-file amc.log --def excludeList=amc.txt
It worked well but I had to change the directory because even though the directory was different it still told me it wasn't. This is what I had previously

filebot -script fn:amc --output "X:\Completed\Filebot" --action rename -non-strict "X:\Completed" --log-file amc.log --def excludeList=amc.txt
I want it to scan the Completed file and then rename and move all the files to Filebot folder (that is in the Completed folder, a subdirectory)

How can I accomplish this?

Secondly I have a TV folder that all my TV files go directly into - we'll call it TV and I want Filebot to go in and rename all the files and put the series in folders and I would run this script every couple hours or so. The problem is again it wants two different directories. I just really want it to rename it right where it is. I don't want to have to change my whole setup just to use Filebot from one directory to another.

Can Filebot rename the files and leave them where they are? I mean it does that when i do them manually..
rednoah
The Source

Re: Scripting Help

Post by rednoah »

Input Folder X:\Completed includes Output Folder X:\Completed\Filebot which is a really bad idea for obvious reasons if you think about it. ;)

You must keep input / output separate:

X:/Completed
X:/FileBot

:!: You cannot rename files right there. You'd end up processing the same files over and over and over in an infinite loop. If you were to rename files manually, that wouldn't be a problem.