Sharing Script: Move [Release Group] anime (Series/Specials/Movies) using AniDB metadata to Series/Season folders

Running FileBot from the console, Groovy scripting, shell scripts, etc
rv23

Sharing Script: Move [Release Group] anime (Series/Specials/Movies) using AniDB metadata to Series/Season folders

Post by rv23 »

I am posting a script that I have been working on for the last 6 months that suits a very very specific use case, but might have some value to other's if they also have this same use case.

The Code is here: https://github.com/runecalico/filebot-public

What is my use case?
I shotgun download Anime from a multitude of Release Groups, to the tune of thousands of files a week.
I do not have the desire nor the time to manually sort them, and I ultimately use AniDB to track and sort my Collection (30%+ of AniDB)
Filebot & AMC are great tools, and everything considered work very very well.
I however wanted to use AniDB metadata, and for the initial sorting of the incoming files I have no interest in FILE renaming, just sorting them into the "correct" Series/Season as per AniDB. Movies and OVA/ONA etc included.
AMC in strict mode produces an acceptable amount of "incorrect" matches, but an unacceptable (to me) total amount of what *is* matched.
AMC in Non-Strict mode produces an unacceptable (to me) amount of "incorrect" matches, but matches almost everything.
You can Forget about AniDB for movies, and OVA/ONA/OAD often don't match either.
I needed something to sort the raw incoming files with "high" accuracy (additional stages will be used to prune the files down to what I want to keep or add to AniDB)

What does the script do?