Accented characters

Running FileBot from the console, Groovy / FileBot scripting, shell scripts, etc
Post Reply
seequcn
Posts: 17
Joined: 25 May 2012, 01:13

Accented characters

Post by seequcn » 27 May 2012, 19:53

On Debian I get an error when running

Code: Select all

java -jar ./FileBot.jar -script fn:renall --db OpenSubtitles /media//* --format "/media/filebot/{n}_({y})_by_{director}/{n}_({y})_by_{director}_IMDB({imdb})_Part{pi}_of_{pn}"
FileBot exits and I have to remove all the accented characters from directory and filenames before FileBot can go through properly.

Is there a way for FileBot to keep going despite meeting names that it can't handle, or an easy automatic way to convert accents to normal characters?

Here is the error message:-

FileNotFoundException: /01/Batch_01_02/C'est arriv?? pr??s de chez vous (1992)
java.io.FileNotFoundException: /media/filebot/01/C'est arriv?? pr??s de chez vous (1992)
at Script2$_run_closure15.doCall(Script2.groovy:22)
at Script2$_run_closure16_closure71.doCall(Script2.groovy:23)
at Script2$_run_closure16.doCall(Script2.groovy:23)
at Script2$_run_closure19.doCall(Script2.groovy:27)
at Script3.run(Script3.groovy:6)
at net.sourceforge.filebot.cli.ScriptShell$1.run(Unknown Source)
at net.sourceforge.filebot.cli.ScriptShell.evaluate(Unknown Source)
at net.sourceforge.filebot.cli.ScriptShell.runScript(Unknown Source)
at net.sourceforge.filebot.cli.ArgumentProcessor.process(Unknown Source)
at net.sourceforge.filebot.Main.main(Unknown Source)

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 16303
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Accented characters

Post by rednoah » 28 May 2012, 00:05

Sure. Use ascii() for each expression that you wanna normalize. e.g. {t.ascii()}
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

seequcn
Posts: 17
Joined: 25 May 2012, 01:13

Re: Accented characters

Post by seequcn » 28 May 2012, 01:48

Haven't had a chance to try this out yet, but are you sure that this isn't an I/O problem with the filesystem?

seequcn
Posts: 17
Joined: 25 May 2012, 01:13

Re: Accented characters

Post by seequcn » 28 May 2012, 02:01

I tried it again with

Code: Select all

java -jar ./FileBot.jar -script fn:renall --db OpenSubtitles /media/01/* --format "/media/filebot/01/strict/{n.ascii()}_({y})_by_{director.ascii()}/{n.ascii()}_({y})_by_{director.ascii()}_FILE({fn.ascii()})_IMDB({imdb})_Part{pi}_of_{pn}" --action copy
And the programmed hiccuped with this:-

FileNotFoundException: /media/sde1/home/seequcn/private/rtorrent/ATMITW-1/Smultronst??llet (Wild Strawberries) (1957) Ingmar Bergman
java.io.FileNotFoundException: /media/sde1/home/seequcn/private/rtorrent/ATMITW-1/Smultronst??llet (Wild Strawberries) (1957) Ingmar Bergman
at Script2$_run_closure15.doCall(Script2.groovy:22)
at Script2$_run_closure16_closure71.doCall(Script2.groovy:23)
at Script2$_run_closure16.doCall(Script2.groovy:23)
at Script2$_run_closure19.doCall(Script2.groovy:27)
at Script3.run(Script3.groovy:6)
at net.sourceforge.filebot.cli.ScriptShell$1.run(Unknown Source)
at net.sourceforge.filebot.cli.ScriptShell.evaluate(Unknown Source)
at net.sourceforge.filebot.cli.ScriptShell.runScript(Unknown Source)
at net.sourceforge.filebot.cli.ArgumentProcessor.process(Unknown Source)
at net.sourceforge.filebot.Main.main(Unknown Source)
Failure (?_?)

I think FileBot has trouble with processing and talking to the OS when it comes across (unicode?) accented characters.

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 16303
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Accented characters

Post by rednoah » 28 May 2012, 03:51

Ah, it's not the FS that can't handle Unicode but the input FileBot gets from the console. I guess somehow between bash and filebot startup the input data is messed up. Just use FileBot/Groovy scripting instead of cmdline then.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

Post Reply