V3.61 Doesn't Find Subtitles but v3.50 Does

All your suggestions, requests and ideas for future development
Post Reply
viking
Power User
Posts: 128
Joined: 14 Jul 2013, 08:21

V3.61 Doesn't Find Subtitles but v3.50 Does

Post by viking »

I searched for (English) subtitles for "Primeval.S05E02.720p.WEB-DL.AAC2.0.H264-KiNGS.mkv".
Using v3.50, 3 subtitles are found. However, using v3.60 or v3.61, none are found!

I am using the portable versions of Filebot.
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 19140
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: V3.61 Doesn't Find Subtitles but v3.50 Does

Post by rednoah »

Tried v3.61 and dragged in an empty file (so no hash lookup) with that name, in the end it found 3 subtitles via text-search.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
viking
Power User
Posts: 128
Joined: 14 Jul 2013, 08:21

Re: V3.61 Doesn't Find Subtitles but v3.50 Does

Post by viking »

rednoah wrote:Tried v3.61 and dragged in an empty file (so no hash lookup) with that name, in the end it found 3 subtitles via text-search.
So why does v3.50 but not 3.61 work when doing a hash lookup?
Is there some way to tell v3.61 to do a text search on the real file?
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 19140
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: V3.61 Doesn't Find Subtitles but v3.50 Does

Post by rednoah »

Hash lookup works by hashing the file data. My test file has 0 bytes, no data, no hash lookup. But since I get 3 subtitles on my 0-byte test file it means it can look up subtitles just by looking at the filename.

Everything is done automatically. If it can't find subs via hash lookup it'll continue with text search, that's why there is two search icons for OpenSubtitles in different colours.


But really it's that simple: I drag it the file, I get 3 subtitles:
http://snag.gy/Fn6Yv.jpg


PS: The second text search might take a while. Look at the screenshot, this is how it looks when it's done.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
viking
Power User
Posts: 128
Joined: 14 Jul 2013, 08:21

Re: V3.61 Doesn't Find Subtitles but v3.50 Does

Post by viking »

rednoah wrote:Hash lookup works by hashing the file data. My test file has 0 bytes, no data, no hash lookup. But since I get 3 subtitles on my 0-byte test file it means it can look up subtitles just by looking at the filename.

Everything is done automatically. If it can't find subs via hash lookup it'll continue with text search, that's why there is two search icons for OpenSubtitles in different colours.


But really it's that simple: I drag it the file, I get 3 subtitles:
http://snag.gy/Fn6Yv.jpg


PS: The second text search might take a while. Look at the screenshot, this is how it looks when it's done.
How would I know if the subtitles were found by hash or text?
It would be very helpful to know, maybe by presenting different icons in the results?
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 19140
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: V3.61 Doesn't Find Subtitles but v3.50 Does

Post by rednoah »

It's the colour. The more red it is the more uncertain the subtitle match.

Here's what a positive hash lookup looks like:
http://snag.gy/haGaf.jpg

Each option is pure white => all hash matches are considered to be a 100% perfect match. You'll also notice it didn't even do a text search since it already found some good subtitles.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
viking
Power User
Posts: 128
Joined: 14 Jul 2013, 08:21

Re: V3.61 Doesn't Find Subtitles but v3.50 Does

Post by viking »

OK. Got it now. Thanks.

p.s. At first, I didn't understand why v3.50 and v.3.61 (or v3.60) behaved differently. The later versions didn't find anything with the real file. However, after I feed FileBot the empty file (like you did), it found the subtitles by text-search. I then proceeded with the real file again, and it continued to work (found subtitles by text search). Very strange! Maybe the searches are cashed somewhere?
viking
Power User
Posts: 128
Joined: 14 Jul 2013, 08:21

Re: V3.61 Doesn't Find Subtitles but v3.50 Does

Post by viking »

I tried another video and have the same issue: I get subtitles in v3.50 but nothing using v3.61. BTW, if white is hash search, orange is name search, what is red? Also, was Subscene removed from v 3.61?

v3.50:
http://snag.gy/zmSPG.jpg

v3.61:
http://snag.gy/hHRCq.jpg
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 19140
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: V3.61 Doesn't Find Subtitles but v3.50 Does

Post by rednoah »

Sublight and Subscene are no longer supported. Older versions may or may not work, but will break eventually.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
viking
Power User
Posts: 128
Joined: 14 Jul 2013, 08:21

Re: V3.61 Doesn't Find Subtitles but v3.50 Does

Post by viking »

rednoah wrote:Sublight and Subscene are no longer supported. Older versions may or may not work, but will break eventually.
Oh... Which is the latest version that supported those? Can I download that version somewhere?
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 19140
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: V3.61 Doesn't Find Subtitles but v3.50 Does

Post by rednoah »

v3.6 I think. Old versions are all on sourceforge downloads.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
Post Reply