Filebot.node fails to run on Synology

All your suggestions, requests and ideas for future development
Post Reply
trumpy81
Posts: 16
Joined: 07 Sep 2014, 22:56

Filebot.node fails to run on Synology

Post by trumpy81 » 22 Feb 2019, 22:15

GDay All,

I have an issue with FileBot.Node failing to run on DSM 6.2.1-23824 Update 4.

I installed Filebot, Filebot.node, Java 8 installer and Apache Ant for good measure. Filebot.node appears with a run button and when attempting to run filebot.node, nothing happens, it returns to run and the Package Center reports it as stopped.

When attempting to launch Filebot.node from the DSM start menu, I am greeted with the following:

Image

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

XPEnology (Jun's loader v1.04b simulated in VM)
DS918+
DSM 6.2.1-23824 Update 4 (fresh install)

trumpy81
Posts: 16
Joined: 07 Sep 2014, 22:56

Re: Filebot.node fails to run on Synology

Post by trumpy81 » 23 Feb 2019, 05:14

It seems that I forgot an important step, and that is to install Node.js v8.

As soon as I installed that FileBot.Node decided to run and open.

I did not need to install Apache Ant or as far as I can tell, the Java 8 Installer package either.

I currently only have FileBot, FileBot.Node and Node.js v8 installed and everything is working just fine.

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 16978
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Filebot.node fails to run on Synology

Post by rednoah » 23 Feb 2019, 06:24

The FileBot Node app is a Node.JS application and thus requires node to run it and server requests. FileBot Node itself just executes filebot commands, which will fail if java is not installed. They're fairly independent. FileBot Node is just a simple front-end for the filebot command-line tools.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

trumpy81
Posts: 16
Joined: 07 Sep 2014, 22:56

Re: Filebot.node fails to run on Synology

Post by trumpy81 » 23 Feb 2019, 06:34

Thanks Rednoah.

The last time I did this was several years ago and at that time I did not have to install the Node.js v4 package as that was installed for me after installing the Oracle Java SE package, if memory serves me correctly.

No matter, I have made a note of the new procedure so that I don't forget.

Now, where did I put that note? ... lol

Thanks again Rednoah and thanks for such a great tool!

Post Reply