Help Requested with Advanced Episode Renaming Scheme

Any questions? Need some help?
thomaseo1

Help Requested with Advanced Episode Renaming Scheme

Post by thomaseo1 »

I am a noob attempting to change the show title from something that begins with the words "A" or "the" are moved to the end of the title
like G:\My Videos\TV Shows OLD\The New Batman Adventures [1997]\Season 1\The New Batman Adventures - 1x01 - Holiday Knights.avi
to G:\My Videos\TV Shows OLD\New Batman Adventures The, [1997]\Season 1\New Batman Adventures, The - 1x01 - Holiday Knights.avi

My current episode format places items into a specific folder, names title with the year show started, works with placing special episodes into a specials folder and names them accordingly and looks like this

Code: Select all

G:/My Videos/TV Shows/{n} [{startdate.format("yyyy")}]/{episode.special ? 'Special' : 'Season '+ s}/{n} - {episode.special ? '0xSpecial '+special.pad(2) : sxe} - {t}
I would appreciate any help with getting the words "the" and "a" to be moved to the back of the shows title. :geek:
rednoah
The Source

Re: Help Requested with Advanced Episode Renaming Scheme

Post by rednoah »

Try something like

{n =~ /^The/ ? n[4..-1]+', The' : n}
Just of the top of my head. Might have syntax bugs.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
rednoah
The Source

Post by rednoah »

Here's our winner:

{n =~ /^The / ? n[4..-1]+', The' : n =~ /^A / ? n[2..-1]+', A' : n}
thomaseo1

Post by thomaseo1 »

Wow it works hooray!!! Thanks so much I was playing with the first post when I checked back again. Now I'll try to play around with that and get the lowercase "a" and "the" than I want to tackle colons that pop up and see if I can replace them with a dash.

Current code