Complete Beginner

Any questions? Need some help?
Natilus13

Complete Beginner

Post by Natilus13 »

Hi,

I just came across this program and have been reading the forums. It sounds like a very powerful piece of software and should be able to do exactly what I want. The problem I am having is that I don't have a clue how to use it or what to do with the scripts that are posted on this forum. Any chance on giving some basic instructions on what to do with these scripts? My end goal is to automate my media downloading process, pretty much identical to the thread that F12 had posted.

Thanks
rednoah
The Source

Re: Complete Beginner

Post by rednoah »

FileBot is very flexible so there is many ways to do this. If you're using utorrent you can use this script at http://filebot.sourceforge.net/forums/v ... 4&t=5#p802 right out of the box and it'll take care of everything. Otherwise just make adjustments depending on what you wanna do and how you download and organize media.

Install it and then run filebot -script path/to/script and that'll get you started. Simple cmdline calls are supported but probably not good enough for more complex logic. You can use predefined scripts directly like in the examples in the link above or patch together your own script for your specific needs.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
Natilus13

Post by Natilus13 »

Thanks rednoah.

Just to see if I understand this correctly. Can you verify this for me?

I have downloaded the script "utorrent-postprocess.groovy" and saved it to "E:\Automation\Filebot Scripts".

I thought this would be the correct line to enter into uTorrent, but it didn't seem to work.

"filebot -script E:\Automation\Filebot Scripts\utorrent-postprocess.groovy"

In the script itself, how do I point it to my TV folder? Currently I have my TV shows in "E:\TV Series\Show\Season\". Do I need to replace the line "X:/media" in the script with ""E:\TV Series\"?