First time user, hoping to find a solution here

Any questions? Need some help?
Post Reply
dikkiedirk
Posts: 7
Joined: 10 Feb 2013, 10:53

First time user, hoping to find a solution here

Post by dikkiedirk » 10 Feb 2013, 11:38

My movie collection consists mainly of mkv, bluray and DVD rips. Bluray and DVD can be both folders-structure and ISO. Every movie has is own folder on my server. For my Dune mediaplayer I use Yadis as organizer, scraper, and Videowall generator. It uses a rather strict naming convention. Therefore I like to use Filebot as folder renamer and just that. Only the folder should be renamed. I downloaded Filebot 3.3 and need help to set things up for this "simple" task. Is there a guide for this or can someone give me simple instructions on how to do this? When I open Filebot can I click the rename button and just drag for instance the MKV folder (containing subfolders holding the actual movie) in the left window and click the rename arrow? Do I first get to see an example of what the actual foldername will be after renaming? Where do i set that only the foldername will be renamed? I like the foldernames be renamed to IMDB names, like Spartacus (1964). When does the renaming take place?

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 18538
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: First time user, hoping to find a solution here

Post by rednoah » 10 Feb 2013, 12:05

Nothing will get renamed until you press 'Rename'

Why don't you play with it?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zcSFKiwFLZw

When dropping in folders, it'll always add the files with the exception of disk folders and movie.nfo folders of course. You can force-drop folders via Link-Drop:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WbHPC0o4Uqo
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

dikkiedirk
Posts: 7
Joined: 10 Feb 2013, 10:53

Re: First time user, hoping to find a solution here

Post by dikkiedirk » 10 Feb 2013, 14:09

So it isn't possible to rename the folder holding the movie alone?

My folderstructure on my server is:
<sharename>-MKV---<moviefolder>----Movie.mkv

I want only the moviefolder renamed.

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 18538
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: First time user, hoping to find a solution here

Post by rednoah » 10 Feb 2013, 14:24

Of course it works. Renaming folders, exactly what I'm doing in the second video tutorial, right?

It's just 54 seconds. Watch it!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WbHPC0o4Uqo
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

dikkiedirk
Posts: 7
Joined: 10 Feb 2013, 10:53

Re: First time user, hoping to find a solution here

Post by dikkiedirk » 10 Feb 2013, 16:34

Are you something special there? Cause when I select the folders and drag them in the window I immediately see the contents of the folders.

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 18538
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: First time user, hoping to find a solution here

Post by rednoah » 10 Feb 2013, 16:46

Q: How can I rename folders? It's only letting me rename files when I drop folders!
A: When you drop a folder into the "Original Files" area it will add all the files within that folder. Just add folders via Link-Drop (Ctrl+Shift+Drop) if you want to move/copy folders as a single unit. Here's a video demo for that. Special cases like DVD/BluRay/etc folders as well as XBMC movie folders with movie.nfo will automatically be handled correctly.
You know how drag and drop work right and how you can do different things depending on what modifiers you press right? In the video you can see i drop files twice, once i get the contents (Move-Drop) and the the second time i get the folders (Link-Drop). Like the FAQ says.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

dikkiedirk
Posts: 7
Joined: 10 Feb 2013, 10:53

Re: First time user, hoping to find a solution here

Post by dikkiedirk » 10 Feb 2013, 17:26

Thanks, seems to work now. Real time saver and great piece of software! First check the preview window and then make it definitive. Hope that is proper English.

One question though:

Is it possible to add a subfix like (nas1) to the folder names?
Last edited by dikkiedirk on 10 Feb 2013, 17:34, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 18538
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: First time user, hoping to find a solution here

Post by rednoah » 10 Feb 2013, 17:33

Yep, you'll see the destination names as defined by your format on the right side. If there are any conflicts existing or futures files it'll not let you rename.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

dikkiedirk
Posts: 7
Joined: 10 Feb 2013, 10:53

Re: First time user, hoping to find a solution here

Post by dikkiedirk » 10 Feb 2013, 17:36

When I set the format can I specify a subfix to the filename there?

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 18538
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: First time user, hoping to find a solution here

Post by rednoah » 10 Feb 2013, 17:55

subfix? you mean file extension? by default file extensions will be preserved (unless you switch to "Absolute Path" mode).

Also everything is defined in the format. If your format defined a UNC path (e.g. \\server\nas1\{n}\{episode}) things will get moved accordingly.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

Post Reply