Help a noob/ can't make any changes

Any questions? Need some help?
Post Reply
krimreaper
Posts: 3
Joined: 22 Mar 2012, 17:40

Help a noob/ can't make any changes

Post by krimreaper » 22 Mar 2012, 17:52

Hi,

I have been unsuccessful at making changes to the naming script.

1 I want to put the resolution in the title as SD or HD. I put this script in.

{n} - {s00e00} - {t} - {sdhd}.mkv

and I get this error

Binding error "sdhd": Invalad media file: null

But the chart has this
Name Description Example
sdhd SD/HD video SD or HD

Does that info have to be already in the title or goes it look at the specs of the file?


2. Is there a way that it will keep the file extension that is already in the file name?
{n} - {s00e00} - {t} This leaves the extension off

{n} - {s00e00} - {t}.mkv This is only good for mkv and I have to change it every-time I have I different file type.


I have other variables I want to try, but I sure once I see what I am doing wrong, I can make that change for the other ones.


Thanks.

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 17486
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Help a noob/ can't make any changes

Post by rednoah » 22 Mar 2012, 18:31

1. sdhd is based on actual video resolution. So if you wanna test that in the format editor you have to define an example file to work with. Ignore those warning and just apply the format. It'll work with real file/episode matches.

2. That should be default. Set "Preserve Extension" in the rename options (small button under the original files list).
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

krimreaper
Posts: 3
Joined: 22 Mar 2012, 17:40

Re: Help a noob/ can't make any changes

Post by krimreaper » 22 Mar 2012, 18:44

Thanks, that worked.

Is there a way to have a default search engine for tv and for movies without having to select it every time?

krimreaper
Posts: 3
Joined: 22 Mar 2012, 17:40

Re: Help a noob/ can't make any changes

Post by krimreaper » 22 Mar 2012, 18:59

Also is there a way to have the year of the tv series automatically appear in the title?

Is there a way to have a default search engine for tv and for movies without having to select it every time?


Thanks.

User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 17486
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Help a noob/ can't make any changes

Post by rednoah » 23 Mar 2012, 00:04

1. In cmdline mode you can define a datasource. The problem is not about default datasource but rather having you tell FileBot what you're handling. TV Series, Anime or Movies and use appropriate logic depending on what you select.

2. {y} for series/movie year
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.

Post Reply