Detect if tv shows or movies

Running FileBot from the console, Groovy scripting, shell scripts, etc
Post Reply
Kapoue
Posts: 11
Joined: 18 Jan 2013, 15:48

Detect if tv shows or movies

Post by Kapoue »

Hello,

How can I detect or directly include the path in the rename if the file is a tv show or a movie?
For the moment I use the following command:

Code: Select all

filebot -rename -action test -non-strict --format "/{n}/{n} - {s00e00} - {t}"
Can I add something in my pattern?
I would like a path like:
\Tv Shows\Castle (2009)\Castle (2009) - S01E02 - Nanny McDead.avi
or
\Movies\Avatar\Avatar.avi
or
\Unsorted\MyProgram.zip

Regards,

Benjamin
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22986
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Detect if tv shows or movies

Post by rednoah »

If you want to handle movie/series/other in one single command then you need to use the amc script.

If you want to use -rename calls, then you need to do one call for movies and one call for series. You can't do everything at once with simple -rename calls.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
Kapoue
Posts: 11
Joined: 18 Jan 2013, 15:48

Re: Detect if tv shows or movies

Post by Kapoue »

I just want to have the category whatever if I need to call one or two script but I don't want to change anything yet.
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22986
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Detect if tv shows or movies

Post by rednoah »

If you don't really know that you're doing, it's best to just go with the amc script:
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=215
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
Kapoue
Posts: 11
Joined: 18 Jan 2013, 15:48

Re: Detect if tv shows or movies

Post by Kapoue »

I have build a custom interface on top of filebot. Everything is ok now except that I don't know if I need to move my file in series or movies.
I currently use the amc script to automate this task but they are no UI and sometimes you don't know what happend.
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22986
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Detect if tv shows or movies

Post by rednoah »

Separating TV Shows and Movies is a tricky issue. You'll have to figure that one out yourself.

Best to separate them into Movie / TV folders and then call -rename on each of those folders.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
User avatar
Axel Foley
Posts: 23
Joined: 27 Mar 2014, 15:47

Re: Detect if tv shows or movies

Post by Axel Foley »

rednoah wrote:Separating TV Shows and Movies is a tricky issue. You'll have to figure that one out yourself.

Best to separate them into Movie / TV folders and then call -rename on each of those folders.
that's what I'm doing right now: after the download, I manually put files in movies or tvshow directories and then I use a modified script to handle those two dirs differently.

Now a question, in the 4.7 update log I read this:
• Smart Mode for handling Movies, TV Shows, Anime and Music all at once
• Improved movie / episode auto-detection
Would like to know how to use this "Smart Mode" in the scripts and if it is effective in order to avoid putting movies and tvshows files in separate directories.

I'd like to modify my script but I don't know where to start to test this new feature, any help would be appreciated.

Thank you.
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22986
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Detect if tv shows or movies

Post by rednoah »

What is called Smart Mode / Automatic in the GUI is somewhat similar to the auto-detection aspects of the amc script. So the amc script is the closest CLI equivalent to the Smart Mode GUI feature.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
Post Reply