how to pass options for filebot docker?

Support for unRAID and docker container users
Post Reply
cyr0nk0r
Posts: 14
Joined: 15 Nov 2020, 20:23

how to pass options for filebot docker?

Post by cyr0nk0r »

Code: Select all

docker run --log-driver local --log-opt max-size=20m --rm -it -v data:/data -v /mnt/media:/mnt/media -p 5454:5454 --env XPRA_AUTH="password:value=testing" rednoah/filebot:xpra --def net.filebot.theme=FlatLight
I'm trying to do a few things with the docker-xpra and finding it frustration because of the lack of documentation. For instance, trying to get the clipboard working the filebot xpra wiki just says you may need to enable the clipboard option. Ok, HOW? How do I enable the clipboard option?

In addition, I'd like to figure out how to change the theme for filebox. Currently the docker seems to default to dark mode which I hate. I tried using the above --def net.filebot.theme=FlatLight but that seems to have no effect.
Also, I'd like to figure out how to launch filebot maximized (or perhaps with custom resolution) inside the xpra html5 window. Have tried a few things with no luck.
Finally, I would REALLY like to change the port away from 5454 to something that makes more sense for me, specifically I would love if I could change the port to 80. I've tried -p 80:80 with no luck, and also trying to change the xpra binding port with an --env with no luck either.

These seem like pretty basic things but documentation seems to expect you to already know how to do everything with filebot and/or docker to get anything beyond a default configuration.
cyr0nk0r
Posts: 14
Joined: 15 Nov 2020, 20:23

Re: how to pass options for filebot docker?

Post by cyr0nk0r »

Been making progress. I got the port sorted. Had to actually look at the xpra file in github to find real documentation on the arguments accepted.
https://github.com/filebot/filebot-dock ... rfile.xpra

Here is my current docker run command.

Code: Select all

docker run --restart unless-stopped --name filebot --log-driver local --log-opt max-size=20m --detach --volume data:/data --volume /mnt/media:/mnt/media --publish 8080:8080 --env PUID=1000 --env PGID=1000 --env XPRA_PORT=80 rednoah/filebot:xpra
running it with a port lower than 1024 doesn't seem to be supported, so no port 80 for me. But 8080 will be fine.

Still trying to figure out how to launch the filebot application maximized instead of the tiny little resolution that is the default. But the biggest thing that I am trying to change is the darn theme. Who decided dark mode was the best? It's awful. How on earth do I get the normal light theme for the filebot application inside the xpra html5 client?
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 23211
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: how to pass options for filebot docker?

Post by rednoah »

You'd typically just copy & paste the filebot-xpra usage example and then leave it at that:

Shell: Select all

docker run --rm -it -v "$PWD:/volume1" -v data:/data -p 5454:5454 -e XPRA_AUTH="password:value=YOUR_PASSWORD" rednoah/filebot:xpra
:idea: But if you're really unhappy with default container port 5454 for some reason, then you can publish on a different host port, docker takes care port mapping:

Shell: Select all

-p 8080:5454




cyr0nk0r wrote: 16 Jun 2024, 21:24 How on earth do I get the normal light theme for the filebot application inside the xpra html5 client?
:idea: You could try the System look-and-feel. If you're a Windows user, then you may find that this "normal light theme" is completely different on Windows / Linux / macOS though.

:arrow: Just uncomment the net.filebot.theme=System line in the Advanced Settings config:
rednoah wrote: 30 Jun 2016, 08:36 Your custom system properties are stored in the system.properties configuration file in the FileBot application data folder. You can create / modify the system.properties configuration file via Icon Advanced Settings in the Debug Console (open via F5 keyboard shortcut) in the FileBot Desktop application or via the properties script on the command-line.

Shell: Select all

filebot -script fn:properties --def key=value
Screenshot
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
cyr0nk0r
Posts: 14
Joined: 15 Nov 2020, 20:23

Re: how to pass options for filebot docker?

Post by cyr0nk0r »

Thank you! You are much more knowledgeable than I am on both docker and filebot. I appreciate you pointing me in the right direction.
Regarding the other thread about xttr attributes, I looked through my logs going back a few years (now that I know where they are) and I've been getting those errors and not knowing since forever, so I'll just safely ignore them.

I think my last question is, here is my final docker command, tested and working.

Code: Select all

docker run --restart unless-stopped --name filebot --log-driver local --log-opt max-size=20m --detach --volume data:/data --volume /mnt/media:/mnt/media --publish 8080:5454 --env PUID=1000 --env PGID=1000 rednoah/filebot:xpra
how do I make this docker container start at bootup with the command above? (ubuntu 22.04)

and just for future reference, you keep pointing to filebot arguments that don't seem to work with the xpra version.

Code: Select all

filebot -script fn:properties --def key=value
how am I supposed to pass those command line arguments via that docker command above? I've tried a number of different methods after the rednoah/filebot:xpra and nothing seems to work.
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 23211
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: how to pass options for filebot docker?

Post by rednoah »

cyr0nk0r wrote: 16 Jun 2024, 21:24 For instance, trying to get the clipboard working the filebot xpra wiki just says you may need to enable the clipboard option. Ok, HOW? How do I enable the clipboard option?
:idea: The clipboard is enabled by default as far as xpra is concerned, but the privacy settings in your browser may prevent xpra from reading the clipboard. The details may vary depending your browser.

:arrow: If you're using Google Chrome then you can enable clipboard access via the Clipboard toggle button in the site settings:
Screenshot



cyr0nk0r wrote: 16 Jun 2024, 21:24 Also, I'd like to figure out how to launch filebot maximized (or perhaps with custom resolution) inside the xpra html5 window.
If you maximize it, then it'll stay maximized, for the specific Desktop size at the time. At least until you shutdown the container. Not sure if there's a way to dynamically maximize a window on-connect. The Xpra Community might have good advice there.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 23211
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: how to pass options for filebot docker?

Post by rednoah »

cyr0nk0r wrote: 17 Jun 2024, 06:41 how do I make this docker container start at bootup with the command above? (ubuntu 22.04)
You'll have to google this one. Start containers automatically | Docker Docs might be a good place to get started. There's probably a remote management UI for docker so you don't necessarily have to use the command-line.



cyr0nk0r wrote: 17 Jun 2024, 06:41 and just for future reference, you keep pointing to filebot arguments that don't seem to work with the xpra version.

Shell: Select all

filebot -script fn:properties --def key=value
how am I supposed to pass those command line arguments via that docker command above? I've tried a number of different methods after the rednoah/filebot:xpra and nothing seems to work.
You can set your custom settings in the GUI, so I would recommend just using the GUI:
  1. Open filebot-xpra in your browser
  2. Press the F5 key on your keyboard to open the Debug Console
  3. Click IconIcon Advanced Settings
  4. Uncomment the net.filebot.theme=System line and then click Save & Exit
rednoah wrote: 30 Jun 2016, 08:36 You can create / modify the system.properties configuration file via Icon Advanced Settings in the Debug Console (open via F5 keyboard shortcut) in the FileBot Desktop application.
Screenshot
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
cyr0nk0r
Posts: 14
Joined: 15 Nov 2020, 20:23

Re: how to pass options for filebot docker?

Post by cyr0nk0r »

rednoah wrote: 17 Jun 2024, 06:59 You can set your custom settings in the GUI, so I would recommend just using the GUI:
right, I know I *can*, but a lot of the documentation that is around surrounds passing command line arguments via the fn:properties.
And I can't find a single example of how to pass ANY other filebot command line arguments through the xpra docker other than "--license" (which also didn't work for me)

So I'm trying to find out more for anyone else that might ever search and have this same issue like me.
How exactly are you supposed to pass *filebot* command line arguments through the docker xpra?

If your answer is something like this, I can already tell you it doesn't work.

Code: Select all

docker run --rm -it -v "$PWD:/volume1" -v data:/data -p 5454:5454 -e XPRA_AUTH="password:value=YOUR_PASSWORD" rednoah/filebot:xpra -script fn:properties --def key=value
rednoah wrote: 17 Jun 2024, 06:59
cyr0nk0r wrote: 17 Jun 2024, 06:41 how do I make this docker container start at bootup with the command above? (ubuntu 22.04)
You'll have to google this one. Start containers automatically | Docker Docs might be a good place to get started. There's probably a remote management UI for docker so you don't necessarily have to use the command-line.
For anyone else

Code: Select all

sudo systemctl enable docker
then ensure that your docker run is using one of the --restart options. Also, you'll likely want --detach rather than -it.
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 23211
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: how to pass options for filebot docker?

Post by rednoah »

cyr0nk0r wrote: 17 Jun 2024, 16:47 right, I know I *can*, but a lot of the documentation that is around surrounds passing command line arguments via the fn:properties.
And I can't find a single example of how to pass ANY other filebot command line arguments through the xpra docker other than "--license" (which also didn't work for me)
The filebot-xpra is like running filebot (without options) on the command-line. It'll launch the GUI. No more. No less. It does not take any options. It does not run additional command-line processes.


e.g. create a custom configuration file:

Shell: Select all

docker run --rm -it -v /mnt:/mnt -v data:/data rednoah/filebot -script fn:properties --def net.filebot.theme=System
NOTE: you can manually create and write the configuration file at the appropriate file path, but the set properties command is easier

e.g. install custom license key:

Shell: Select all

docker run --rm -it -v /mnt:/mnt -v data:/data rednoah/filebot --license
NOTE: you can manually create and write the license file at the appropriate file path, but the set license command is easier

e.g. check your custom settings:

Shell: Select all

docker run --rm -it -v /mnt:/mnt -v data:/data rednoah/filebot -script fn:sysinfo
e.g. launch the GUI:

Shell: Select all

docker run --rm -it -v /mnt:/mnt -v data:/data -p 5454:5454 rednoah/filebot:xpra

:idea: You can run the four commands above, in order, one after another. Each command does what it does independent of other commands. If you happen to first install your license, and then launch the GUI, then the GUI will find your license pre-installed.


:idea: Your configuration is persisted and stored in your user data folder, i.e. -v data:/data in the docker environment. If you create your configuration file / license file / etc in the user data folder (either manually or via filebot commands) then the GUI will use that when you launch the GUI. See How do I activate my license? for details.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
cyr0nk0r
Posts: 14
Joined: 15 Nov 2020, 20:23

Re: how to pass options for filebot docker?

Post by cyr0nk0r »

I see, it's becoming more clear now.
So i need to remove the ":xpra" from the docker in order to pass all those command line arguments. Once passed, I can then run the XPRA version with the customizations that have already been baked in.

Appreciate the clarification.
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 23211
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: how to pass options for filebot docker?

Post by rednoah »

You got it:
  • rednoah/filebot is the containerized filebot command-line tool
  • rednoah/filebot:xpra is the containerized self-contained Linux Desktop Environment with FileBot Desktop application

:idea: The :xpra bit has no particular meaning. filebot and filebot:xpra are just two different containers with two different names.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
Post Reply