Run script without Transmission using terminal

Running FileBot from the console, Groovy scripting, shell scripts, etc
Post Reply
stealerwheeler
Posts: 6
Joined: 23 Nov 2013, 13:11

Run script without Transmission using terminal

Post by stealerwheeler »

Hi,

I've followed along the "Fully Automated Media Center with Transmission (Mac)" tutorial and got it working. Sometimes however a file doesn't get renamed, moved and so forth.

My question is this: Is there a way to run a file "through" the script using terminal? In that case, how? I got next to none terminal knowledge. This would allow me to use the AMC script on files that didn't get sorted.

On a second note, any ideas why the script doesn't fire like 5% of the time and 95% it works great?

Many thanks!
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 23939
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Run script without Transmission using terminal

Post by rednoah »

Yes, you can run it from terminal, and you you wanna see why it's not working you should run it from terminal and you'll probably see why, or at least post the logs here so I can tell you why. ;)

The AMC docs has plenty of tips for running from cmdline:
http://www.filebot.net/forums/viewtopic ... =215#p1561

Google will help you on Terminal basics on Mac.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
stealerwheeler
Posts: 6
Joined: 23 Nov 2013, 13:11

Re: Run script without Transmission using terminal

Post by stealerwheeler »

Thanks for the answer!

I understand, however I know that the script is working since it is doing everything perfectly - seems like it's just Transmission that won't fire the script on some odd occasions. The problem I got is that I don't understand how to run the script "outside" of Transmission since my Terminal knowledge is so poor. I've googled around and this is all I got:

cd desktop
bash transmission-postprocess

Since I'm most definitely doing it wrong - I haven't even speciified a folder to be processed becasue I don't know how to - I get this promt "Failure (*_*) "

I would really appreciate it if someone could point me to how to run the postprocess script on a specified folder/file using terminal instead of Transmission. So I can process files that Transmission skipped. :)
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 23939
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Run script without Transmission using terminal

Post by rednoah »

Nope, just paste the command that's in transmission-postprocess directly into the terminal, and replace the variables that would normally passed in by transmission.

Also the docs have perfectly fine examples of how to call filebot and just pass in file arguments:
Run from cmdline:
Want to try it out first? Running directly from cmdline is even easier and if you set --action test you can do a dry-run and see if everything gets matched up correctly:

Code: Select all

filebot -script fn:amc --output "/path/to/output" --action copy -non-strict "/path/to/input" --def excludeList=amc.txt
Here's a video tutorial for that.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
stealerwheeler
Posts: 6
Joined: 23 Nov 2013, 13:11

Re: Run script without Transmission using terminal

Post by stealerwheeler »

Okay thanks. I tried what you said (opened the transmission-postprocess in Text Edit and added the input after "-non-strict") then copy pased it into Terminal. I got this error:

Locking /Users/mediacenter/.filebot/logs/amc.log
Parameter: artwork = y
Parameter: deleteAfterExtract = y
Parameter: clean = y
Parameter: xbmc = 190.111.0.0
Parameter: ut_dir = /
Parameter: ut_kind = multi
Parameter: ut_title =
Argument: /Path/To/Input/
Exception: Conflicting arguments: pass in either file arguments or ut_dir/ut_file parameters but not both
Failure (°_°)

Also, saw that some files where sorted using the exact same script during the night - but I got three different files that where added previously that hasn't been touched. Any ideas?
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 23939
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Run script without Transmission using terminal

Post by rednoah »

No?

Code: Select all

Exception: Conflicting arguments: pass in either file arguments or ut_dir/ut_file parameters but not both
Means to not pass in ut_dir and file arguments at the same time. Not to mentioned you're passing in your root / which would be VERY BAD, literally tell filebot to process all files on your entire filesystem.

Use the command i posted. Does it define --def ut_dir, ut_file, etc? No.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
Post Reply