License Activation Questions and Answers

Any questions? Need some help?
Post Reply
princerufus
Posts: 1
Joined: 14 Oct 2018, 09:08

License Activation Questions and Answers

Post by princerufus »

I have not received my licence file - can you please send them through again.
Thanks
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 19004
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by rednoah »

Please PM me your name and @gmail.com address, so I can manually resend your license.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
water
Posts: 1
Joined: 17 Oct 2018, 16:21

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by water »

had a nuclear moment and wiped the Mac in a temper , I am now realising I have lost my licence how can I get a new one?
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 19004
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by rednoah »

Please PM me your name and email address and order number, so I can manually find & resend your license. You can also probably find it in your email archive, unless you deleted it.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
Antstorm
Posts: 1
Joined: 22 Oct 2018, 11:06

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by Antstorm »

Ive just noticed only after buying my license that iinet which is my service provider is on your list for licenses not being sent , what do i do , i just purchased a license , got sent two emails , one receipt and one with a license number but no file for me to download , i have PM'ed you my Gmail account
thanks Ant
deathmelon
Posts: 1
Joined: 23 Oct 2018, 11:06

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by deathmelon »

I need to post before I can send a PM :)
smredford
Posts: 1
Joined: 26 Oct 2018, 18:44

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by smredford »

posted
User avatar
mata7
Posts: 1
Joined: 03 Nov 2018, 01:58

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by mata7 »

i also need to post before I can send a PM
skoobysnax23
Posts: 1
Joined: 05 Nov 2018, 11:40

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by skoobysnax23 »

I need to post before PM sent
brokenwu
Posts: 5
Joined: 05 Jan 2018, 19:30

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by brokenwu »

I think this is the best place to ask this.
As a long time user I wanna finally support this project, but have no PayPal/CC, so transferring the money is kinda of an issue.
In the Microsoft store I can pay with SEPA which would be the easiest way for me.
Can I use the version purchased there to make my docker image functional again?
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 19004
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by rednoah »

brokenwu wrote: 09 Nov 2018, 20:04 I think this is the best place to ask this.
As a long time user I wanna finally support this project, but have no PayPal/CC, so transferring the money is kinda of an issue.
In the Microsoft store I can pay with SEPA which would be the easiest way for me.
Can I use the version purchased there to make my docker image functional again?
Unfortunately, no. For Linux / Docker, you'll need a universal license which is only available via direct purchase (i.e not the Store).

Please PM me with name + gmail so we can figure something out.

I suggest a free 1 year FileBot license in exchange for a donation to some EU based open source project (i.e. VLC, MediaInfo, etc) of your choice.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
dansalcedo
Posts: 2
Joined: 16 Nov 2018, 18:00

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by dansalcedo »

Hi,

Just purchased a 1 year license. When I go to activate either by opening license with Filebot or within Filebot I get the same error.

Here is the message I get:

License Error: C:\Users\danth\AppData\Roaming\FileBot\license.txt

Both the license file and text file are 1kb

Thanks for your help.

Dan
dansalcedo
Posts: 2
Joined: 16 Nov 2018, 18:00

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by dansalcedo »

Figured it out. My license.txt file was set as read only. Changed that and activated.
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 19004
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by rednoah »

FileBot requires write permissions to it’s own app data folder, otherwise lots and lots of things will break.

Do you have any ideas why the app data folder permissions might be read-only? This should never happen.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
ahabsito
Posts: 1
Joined: 17 Nov 2018, 18:32

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by ahabsito »

Hi,

I bought Filebot in the Windows Store, can I use the same license for my NAS? I missed the email with the license file.

Thanks,
Jean
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 19004
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by rednoah »

ahabsito wrote: 17 Nov 2018, 18:44 I bought Filebot in the Windows Store, can I use the same license for my NAS? I missed the email with the license file.
You'll need a universal license to run FileBot on your Linux NAS:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=6265

A Microsoft Store purchase does not enable you to run FileBot on platforms not supported by the Microsoft Store.

You may request a 1 year complimentary universal license though, which is a completely separate license system from the Microsoft Store:
viewtopic.php?f=8&t=6081
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
jezpakani
Posts: 1
Joined: 17 Nov 2018, 21:57

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by jezpakani »

Posting so I can PM.
TopDownDriver
Posts: 1
Joined: 25 Nov 2018, 17:54

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by TopDownDriver »

No license came through.

Can you resend in a ZIP file. Only way I can get an attachment.
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 19004
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by rednoah »

TopDownDriver wrote: 25 Nov 2018, 17:58 No license came through.

Can you resend in a ZIP file. Only way I can get an attachment.
I'm happy to resend to your gmail address, which is known to always work.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
mistrykb
Posts: 1
Joined: 17 Dec 2018, 23:28

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by mistrykb »

Did not get muy licene i payed using Paypal
ericganton
Posts: 1
Joined: 18 Dec 2018, 00:15

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by ericganton »

Posting so I can PM. I can't download the license file from my email.
zero80472
Posts: 1
Joined: 23 Dec 2018, 16:01

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by zero80472 »

Need to post so i can PM for licence key
evansgo
Posts: 3
Joined: 26 Dec 2018, 08:05

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by evansgo »

Hmm, I've just registered and received a Licence key, but its text in a message there is no attachment.
I did try to create a key by copying and pasting it but get the License error: Null message so I guess I did something wrong.

The instructions say that I can copy and paste it in, but at no point do I get this prompt, nor was I able to fine any other method apart from me asking to rename a file and then getting asked for a file (which I don't have!)

There's clearly an issue here, its a great program but you are making this unnecessarily difficult for people to actually pay you to use it, we're not all programmers....
How do I turn the text into a key (its the GUI version by the way)?
Thanks
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 19004
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by rednoah »

I've resent your license to your Gmail address. I'm not sure what the error means exactly, something unexpected, so it must be a corrupted / modified license file, which then isn't valid and can't be parsed.

It's possible that your email client messed up the license file. Never heard anybody have issues with Gmail though, so that'll work.

:idea: The license key is plain text, so you can just create a plain text file, paste and then you have a license file. But that's not usually necessary as you should have received your license file as attachment, but some providers block attachments / strip attachments from email without telling you, so things do get unnecessarily complicated if that happens.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
evansgo
Posts: 3
Joined: 26 Dec 2018, 08:05

Re: [FAQ] How do I activate my license?

Post by evansgo »

OK thanks, yes got that and its worked fine.
Not sure if there is an issue with your instructions though, no-where could I see a way to copy and paste the text, Mac GUI version....
Post Reply