Stuck at square one on trying to use scripts

Support for Windows users
Post Reply
balewis5
Posts: 2
Joined: 11 Jan 2016, 21:39

Stuck at square one on trying to use scripts

Post by balewis5 »

So, this is my first go around trying to do any type of scripting or automating so sorry about the basic and low level questions. After some work, I finally figured out how to get groovy installed with java_home defined (just to show you where I am in my knowledge of this stuff).

I guess that is about as far as I have gotten. I wanted to run the simple rename script i found here

Code: Select all

filebot -script fn:renall "D:\Torrents" -non-strict
However, when I try to run that I keep getting this error/log message in groovy
groovy> filebot -script fn:renall "D:\Torrents" -non-strict

1 compilation error:

expecting EOF, found 'fn' at line: 1, column: 17
I'm not really sure what to do or what I'm doing wrong. My ultimate goal isn't much here either. Eventually I would like for filebot to run at a predetermined time (let's say 3 AM), rename the files in my torrents folder and MAYBE after I get that sorted out move them to the proper folder.

Let me know if you need any other information, or if there is a section in the FAQ I missed or something that can help me out.

Thanks for your help
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22999
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Stuck at square one on trying to use scripts

Post by rednoah »

This is a 1-line shell script, not a Groovy script:

Code: Select all

filebot -script fn:renall ...
Also, you don't need Groovy, and you certainly don't need to start the Groovy console. FileBot executes Groovy scripts by itself just fine.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
balewis5
Posts: 2
Joined: 11 Jan 2016, 21:39

Re: Stuck at square one on trying to use scripts

Post by balewis5 »

Thanks for the tip. I still am not get any good results though. When I go into cmd prompt and run the script (from the D drive in my case) it says Done?(???) and doesn't really do anything. Am I right in assuming I Need to run this from cmd prompt, or is there some file bot menu action I can't find to run it through there.
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22999
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Stuck at square one on trying to use scripts

Post by rednoah »

1.
Learn some command-line basics, then everything will make sense.

2.
Check that there are any files to be processed, then check permissions.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
Post Reply