Page 1 of 1

Rename *without* seeking metadata from databases

Posted: 28 Nov 2016, 02:18
by TDD99CA
Hello!

Is it possible to use FB as an intelligent renamer and skip the ability to look up information from the 'net?

I am wanting to pull out the codec, audio format, resolution, etc., from my media files and include them in the filename. This is all working. I would just
like to have FB not look up the file in question and accept the name as-is.

For reference, I am using "{fn} [{vf} {vc} {bitdepth}bit {ac} {channels}]".

Thx!

Re: Rename *without* seeking metadata from databases

Posted: 28 Nov 2016, 09:00
by rednoah
Sure, you can use existing xattr metadata as datasource.

e.g.

Code: Select all

filebot -rename . --db xattr --format "{fn} [{vf} {vc} {bitdepth}bit {ac} {channels}]" -non-strict --action TEST
The -non-strict option allows you to process files that are not xattr tagged. You'll need FileBot 4.7.5 or later for this though. Older versions of FileBot may ignore files that are not xattr tagged by FileBot yet.

@see viewtopic.php?f=4&t=5#p5394

Re: Rename *without* seeking metadata from databases

Posted: 28 Nov 2016, 16:16
by TDD99CA
Perfect - thank you. I will give this a go!

I appreciate the help!