Rename *without* seeking metadata from databases

Any questions? Need some help?
Post Reply
TDD99CA
Posts: 2
Joined: 28 Nov 2016, 02:05

Rename *without* seeking metadata from databases

Post by TDD99CA »

Hello!

Is it possible to use FB as an intelligent renamer and skip the ability to look up information from the 'net?

I am wanting to pull out the codec, audio format, resolution, etc., from my media files and include them in the filename. This is all working. I would just
like to have FB not look up the file in question and accept the name as-is.

For reference, I am using "{fn} [{vf} {vc} {bitdepth}bit {ac} {channels}]".

Thx!
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 23953
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: Rename *without* seeking metadata from databases

Post by rednoah »

Sure, you can use existing xattr metadata as datasource.

e.g.

Code: Select all

filebot -rename . --db xattr --format "{fn} [{vf} {vc} {bitdepth}bit {ac} {channels}]" -non-strict --action TEST
The -non-strict option allows you to process files that are not xattr tagged. You'll need FileBot 4.7.5 or later for this though. Older versions of FileBot may ignore files that are not xattr tagged by FileBot yet.

@see viewtopic.php?f=4&t=5#p5394
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
TDD99CA
Posts: 2
Joined: 28 Nov 2016, 02:05

Re: Rename *without* seeking metadata from databases

Post by TDD99CA »

Perfect - thank you. I will give this a go!

I appreciate the help!
Post Reply