I cant for the life of me figure out how to use 2 different folders

Support for Windows users
famulor
Posts: 29
Joined: 11 May 2016, 17:25

Re: I cant for the life of me figure out how to use 2 different folders

Post by famulor »

rednoah wrote:
famulor wrote:Okay so after putting a output it now moves the files but it doesn't rename the files (it makes folders with the correct naming "name (year)"). It doesn't even make sub folders with seasons in it in tv shows.
Sounds like it's working exactly as specified by the format:

Code: Select all

S:/TV/{n}/{fn}
  • Drive: S
  • Folder 1: TV
  • Folder 2: Series Name
  • File Name: Original Filename
This is an example. You can use your own format.
Okay thats just me being a complete moron. I'm using --def "seriesFormat=D:TV Shows/{n}/{plex}" now and it sorta works but for some reason it makes the tv show name and THEN a tv show folder inside and THEN a season folder etc?

(The son > TV shows > Season 01 > S01E01 (according to the plex format)). That seems like its the last issue
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22986
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: I cant for the life of me figure out how to use 2 different folders

Post by rednoah »

Once again, it's doing exactly what you're telling it to do. ;)

Open the Format Editor GUI. Enter {plex}. Look at the value of {plex}.

* What is the value of {plex}?
* What is the destination path you want?
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
famulor
Posts: 29
Joined: 11 May 2016, 17:25

Re: I cant for the life of me figure out how to use 2 different folders

Post by famulor »

rednoah wrote:Once again, it's doing exactly what you're telling it to do. ;)

Open the Format Editor GUI. Enter {plex}. Look at the value of {plex}.

* What is the value of {plex}?
* What is the destination path you want?
I want the tv show destination be: D:/TV shows/The son/season 1/blabla.

Oh so it seems (btw you behave much like a school teacher. i like it :D ) that the plex value makes filebot do the TV show folder every time? So instead i should go something like D:/TV Shows/{n}/Season {s}/{sxe} or {s00e00} - {t} ?
famulor
Posts: 29
Joined: 11 May 2016, 17:25

Re: I cant for the life of me figure out how to use 2 different folders

Post by famulor »

Okay so ive made it rename etc with D:/TV Shows/{n}/Season {s}/{sxe} or {s00e00} - {t} but for some reason it isnt putting the episodes into the already exsisting season folder it just makes its own season folder next to it. it goes into the right tv show folder tho. Is that because the new amc excludes file dosent know theres already a folder named season 4? If so should i just copy the "old" AMC excludes (like i said earlier filebot used to put a excludes file into the "D" drive) into the new amc excludes.txt folder?
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22986
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: I cant for the life of me figure out how to use 2 different folders

Post by rednoah »

1.
Are you sure that you have two folders with exactly the same name? Because that would be impossible. If you have a "Season 1" and a "Season 01" folder then that's just how your format says it should be.

The value of {plex} is something like this:

Code: Select all

TV Shows/Alias/Season 01/Alias - S01E01 - Truth Be Told
The value of {s} is something like this:

Code: Select all

1
Hence Season {s} will give you Season 1.


2.
The exclude list will only contain input files so that you won't process the same files over and over. The contents of the exclude list file do not change how the format works.


3.
Please provide proof of purchase of FileBot on the Windows Store or Mac App Store or PayPal Donation confirmation.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
famulor
Posts: 29
Joined: 11 May 2016, 17:25

Re: I cant for the life of me figure out how to use 2 different folders

Post by famulor »

rednoah wrote:1.
Are you sure that you have two folders with exactly the same name? Because that would be impossible. If you have a "Season 1" and a "Season 01" folder then that's just how your format says it should be.

The value of {plex} is something like this:

Code: Select all

TV Shows/Alias/Season 01/Alias - S01E01 - Truth Be Told
The value of {s} is something like this:

Code: Select all

1
Hence Season {s} will give you Season 1.


2.
The exclude list will only contain input files so that you won't process the same files over and over. The contents of the exclude list file do not change how the format works.


3.
Please provide proof of purchase of FileBot on the Windows Store or Mac App Store or PayPal Donation confirmation.
1.
The new folder is called Season 1 instead of the current Season 01. is there anything i can do to make ti go into the Season 01 folder? Or should i just move my stuff to the new folders as they are created?

2.
Im not using the {plex} anymore since the D:/TV Shows/{n}/Season {s}/{sxe} {T} format works better for me. (plex creates Season 1 folder > tv show folder > season 1 folder again with the episode inside it)

3.

http://imgur.com/a/n8ebn

Using teamviewer into my media server so the screenshot is from there :) if you want any other proof just say so. In english its "This product is installed"
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22986
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: I cant for the life of me figure out how to use 2 different folders

Post by rednoah »

1.
Just use D:/{plex} as format. That'll give you Season 01 folders.

If you have existing files in Season 1 folder then you just need to drag them into FileBot (GUI) and process them with D:/{plex} as format. That'll organize the files into Season 01 folders.



2.
If {plex} has this value:

Code: Select all

TV Shows/Alias/Season 01/Alias - S01E01 - Truth Be Told
then D:/{plex} has this value:

Code: Select all

D:/TV Shows/Alias/Season 01/Alias - S01E01 - Truth Be Told
It's really rather simple.

If you use this format:

Code: Select all

D:/TV Shows/{n}/{plex}
then, exactly as specified, the result will be this:

Code: Select all

D:/TV Shows/Alias/TV Shows/Alias/Season 01/Alias - S01E01 - Truth Be Told
because {n} is the series name and {plex} is the Plex path.


:idea: I recommend using {plex} because it will take care of things you haven't thought of yet. ;)


3.
Good enough for me! The support continues~
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
famulor
Posts: 29
Joined: 11 May 2016, 17:25

Re: I cant for the life of me figure out how to use 2 different folders

Post by famulor »

rednoah wrote:1.
Just use D:/{plex} as format. That'll give you Season 01 folders.

If you have existing files in Season 1 folder then you just need to drag them into FileBot (GUI) and process them with D:/{plex} as format. That'll organize the files into Season 01 folders.



2.
If {plex} has this value:

Code: Select all

TV Shows/Alias/Season 01/Alias - S01E01 - Truth Be Told
then D:/{plex} has this value:

Code: Select all

D:/TV Shows/Alias/Season 01/Alias - S01E01 - Truth Be Told
It's really rather simple.

If you use this format:

Code: Select all

D:/TV Shows/{n}/{plex}
then, exactly as specified, the result will be this:

Code: Select all

D:/TV Shows/Alias/TV Shows/Alias/Season 01/Alias - S01E01 - Truth Be Told
because {n} is the series name and {plex} is the Plex path.


:idea: I recommend using {plex} because it will take care of things you haven't thought of yet. ;)


3.
Good enough for me! The support continues~
The D:/{plex} worked. Wow i feel stupid :D Would it just be the same command for movies? //DS416J/Media/{plex} and then it goes auto into the movies folder etc?
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 22986
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: I cant for the life of me figure out how to use 2 different folders

Post by rednoah »

Yep. That's what {plex} does. It's gonna give you the (relative) path you want regardless of what kind of object it is (e.g. movie, episode, etc) you're formatting.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
famulor
Posts: 29
Joined: 11 May 2016, 17:25

Re: I cant for the life of me figure out how to use 2 different folders

Post by famulor »

rednoah wrote:Yep. That's what {plex} does. It's gonna give you the (relative) path you want regardless of what kind of object it is (e.g. movie, episode, etc) you're formatting.
It works wonders now! Thanks alot man :P Really good support! Love the program
Post Reply