FileBot Node doesn't start on DSM 6

Support for Synology NAS, QNAP NAS and other Embedded Linux systems
flasher111
Posts: 10
Joined: 14 Feb 2016, 08:09

FileBot Node doesn't start on DSM 6

Post by flasher111 »

Hello Community,

i am new in this forum and i have a small problem with getting started the fileBot Node on my Sinology.
First of all i will give you a few informations about my system requirements.

I have a Synology DS 713+ installed with the second Beta-Version of DSM 6.
I installed:
-Java V7 --> runs perfect
-FileBot V4.6.1 --> runs perfect
and FileBot Nodes V0.1.7 --> didn't start

Image

if i try to run FileBot Nodes a Message appears with "Der Packetdienst konnte nicht ausgeführt werden"

The log will give me the following output

Image

i hope anybody could help me with this error.
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 18986
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: filebot node not starting

Post by rednoah »

Looks like Node.js is not installed.

Also, FileBot requires at least Java 8.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
ZeroZorro
Posts: 3
Joined: 15 Feb 2016, 13:45

Re: filebot node not starting

Post by ZeroZorro »

I have exactly the same error:

Synology DS214play DSM 6.0-7274
Node.js 0.12.9-0159
Filebot 4.6.1
FileNode 0.1.8
Java: java version "1.8.0_73"
Java(TM) SE Embedded Runtime Environment (build 1.8.0_73-b02, headless)
Java HotSpot(TM) Embedded Client VM (build 25.73-b02, mixed mode)

Seems like node.js is installed but maybe in another dir? Any clues?
ZeroZorro
Posts: 3
Joined: 15 Feb 2016, 13:45

Re: filebot node not starting

Post by ZeroZorro »

It seems like 'node' is installed in '/usr/local/bin' instead of /'usr/bin'
i copied the file to /usr/bin manually but still some errors...

Image
ZeroZorro
Posts: 3
Joined: 15 Feb 2016, 13:45

Re: filebot node not starting

Post by ZeroZorro »

Just did a new, clean setup following
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=1802

After installing Unofficial Java installer a got an error:

/var/packages/oracle-java-installer/scripts/postinst: line 10: /usr/local/bin/java: No such filer or directory

Probably that's where trouble starts?
flasher111
Posts: 10
Joined: 14 Feb 2016, 08:09

Re: filebot node not starting

Post by flasher111 »

rednoah wrote:Looks like Node.js is not installed.

Also, FileBot requires at least Java 8.
First time i installed filebot Node i were asked to install the Node.js and i clicked "yes".
The Nodes.js installation was successful.

Today i installed Java 8 but it has no effect.
I also tried the new Version 0.1.8 from github but i have the same problems that i wrote in my first post!

i think the approach from ZeroZorro is on the right way!
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 18986
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: filebot node not starting

Post by rednoah »

Did you install the Synology Node JS package? Or SynoCommunity one? I have bnotntested the latter.

If my Java installer doesn't work, check the log and see what it says. Then post a screenshot here.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
flasher111
Posts: 10
Joined: 14 Feb 2016, 08:09

Re: filebot node not starting

Post by flasher111 »

rednoah wrote:Did you install the Synology Node JS package? Or SynoCommunity one? I have bnotntested the latter.

If my Java installer doesn't work, check the log and see what it says. Then post a screenshot here.
i installed Node JS from Synology
(Version 0.12 and Version 4.2.3)

i also tried the Node JS from SynoCommunity

Java 8 is installed i tried it with the Synology beta packed and with the original installer from Oracle.
Java 8 is correctly installed and works.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

same log message in filebot Node
flasher111
Posts: 10
Joined: 14 Feb 2016, 08:09

Re: filebot node not starting

Post by flasher111 »

i found at the forum that you have your own Java Version 8 pkg.
https://app.filebot.net/syno/index.json

After installing your Java V8 Version i got two error Messages

Image

Image

the log file is really long so the screenshot is from the bottom.
I think the last line is critical
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 18986
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: filebot node not starting

Post by rednoah »

Let's ignore java and focus on the node issue.

The Synology Node JS package should create the /usr/bin/node symlink. So either the install failed, or they changed something.

Log in via SSH, find the node executable, check that it works, and then create that symlink yourself.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
flasher111
Posts: 10
Joined: 14 Feb 2016, 08:09

Re: filebot node not starting

Post by flasher111 »

i opened you start.sh at /volume1/@appstore/filebot-node/server/start.sh with the terminal editor and changed the path in line 30

Code: Select all

/usr/local/bin/node --max_executable_size=16 --use_idle_notification "server/app.js"
because the node folder in Beta 2 is in the folder "local".

Now i got this Error in the log-file

Image

i don't know what this means
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 18986
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: filebot node not starting

Post by rednoah »

I guess DSM 6 changes lots of things. Consider FileBot Node broken on DSM 6 for now.

Fixing these issues is probably just a matter of updating the paths in server/start.sh to whatever has changed with DSM 6.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 18986
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: filebot node not starting

Post by rednoah »

Try server/start.sh with this ssl options:

Code: Select all

export FILEBOT_NODE_HTTPS_KEY="/usr/syno/etc/certificate/system/default/privkey.pem"
export FILEBOT_NODE_HTTPS_CRT="/usr/syno/etc/certificate/system/default/cert.pem"
@see https://forum.synology.com/enu/viewtopi ... 0&t=114697
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
frikeando
Posts: 8
Joined: 03 Mar 2016, 23:07

Re: FileBot Node doesn't start on DSM 6

Post by frikeando »

I am on the same boat, with DSM 6 (sorry for not to mention it in my post, I didn't see this topic).

Could you detail how to do that ssl option thing?

Thanks!
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 18986
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: FileBot Node doesn't start on DSM 6

Post by rednoah »

1. Login as root
2. Have a look at /var/packages/filebot-node/target/server/start.sh
3. Fix the node call (replace with path to node executable, wherever it is on DSM 6)
4. Fix the filebot-node ssl config (replace key/crt paths with whatever works on DSM 6)

I don't have DSM 6 yet so I don't know the details. If you figure it out, please share. ;)
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
flasher111
Posts: 10
Joined: 14 Feb 2016, 08:09

Re: FileBot Node doesn't start on DSM 6

Post by flasher111 »

@rednoah,

thanks for your help! I tried it with the modified start.sh.
This is my start.sh

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh

export FILEBOT_NODE_HOST="0.0.0.0" # bind to all interfaces
export FILEBOT_NODE_AUTH="SYNO"

export FILEBOT_NODE_HTTP="YES"
export FILEBOT_NODE_HTTP_PORT="5452"

export FILEBOT_NODE_HTTPS="YES"
export FILEBOT_NODE_HTTPS_PORT="5453"
export FILEBOT_NODE_HTTPS_KEY="/usr/syno/etc/certificate/system/default/privkey.pem"
export FILEBOT_NODE_HTTPS_CRT="/usr/syno/etc/certificate/system/default/cert.pem"

# set user
export USER="admin"

export FILEBOT_CMD="filebot"
export FILEBOT_CMD_CWD="$SYNOPKG_PKGDEST_VOL"
export FILEBOT_CMD_UID=`id -u $USER`
export FILEBOT_CMD_GID=`cat /etc/group | grep 'administrators' | cut -d: -f3` # cannot use `id -u $USER` because the result is 100:users but we need 101:administrators because users don't have execute permissions

export FILEBOT_NODE_CLIENT="" # serve client-side code via DSM only

# set working dir
cd "$SYNOPKG_PKGDEST"

# --max_executable_size (max size of executable memory (in Mbytes))
# (NOT YET SUPPORTED SYNO NODE.JS) --optimize_for_size (Enables optimizations which favor memory size over execution speed.)
# --use_idle_notification (Use idle notification to reduce memory footprint.)
/usr/local/bin/node --max_executable_size=16 --use_idle_notification "server/app.js"

but now i got this error Message

Image
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 18986
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: FileBot Node doesn't start on DSM 6

Post by rednoah »

I guess the path to the authenticate.cgi has changed as well. You could try modifying app.js to possibly fix that one.
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
hshah
Donor
Posts: 44
Joined: 22 Feb 2016, 22:23

Re: FileBot Node doesn't start on DSM 6

Post by hshah »

I changed my start.sh as per the above recommendations and my Filebot NodeStarts:

Code: Select all

ENVIRONMENT { SYNOPKG_DSM_LANGUAGE: 'enu',
  FILEBOT_NODE_HTTPS_KEY: '/usr/syno/etc/certificate/system/default/privkey.pem',
  TERM: 'vt102',
  FILEBOT_CMD_UID: '1024',
  SYNOPKG_TEMP_LOGFILE: '/tmp/synopkgmgr.log-filebot-node',
  SYNOPKG_USERNAME: 'hshah',
  SYNOPKG_DSM_ARCH: 'cedarview',
  SYNOPKG_PKG_STATUS: 'START',
  OLDPWD: '/',
  USER: 'admin',
  FILEBOT_CMD_CWD: '/volume1',
  FILEBOT_NODE_HTTPS_PORT: '5453',
  PATH: '/sbin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/usr/syno/sbin:/usr/syno/bin:/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin',
  SELF: 'filebot-node',
  FILEBOT_CMD_GID: '101',
  PWD: '/volume1/@appstore/filebot-node',
  SYNOPKG_PKGDEST: '/volume1/@appstore/filebot-node',
  FILEBOT_NODE_HOST: '0.0.0.0',
  SYNOPKG_PKGVER: '0.1.7',
  FILEBOT_NODE_HTTPS_CRT: '/usr/syno/etc/certificate/system/default/cert.pem',
  SYNOPKG_DSM_VERSION_MINOR: '0',
  SHLVL: '3',
  FILEBOT_CMD: 'filebot',
  SYNOPKG_DSM_VERSION_BUILD: '7307',
  UPSTART_INSTANCE: '',
  FILEBOT_NODE_HTTPS: 'YES',
  SYNOPKG_PKGNAME: 'filebot-node',
  FILEBOT_NODE_HTTP_PORT: '5452',
  SYNOPKG_DSM_VERSION_MAJOR: '6',
  SYNOPKG_PKGDEST_VOL: '/volume1',
  FILEBOT_NODE_AUTH: 'SYNO',
  UPSTART_JOB: 'pkgctl-filebot-node',
  FILEBOT_NODE_HTTP: 'YES',
  FILEBOT_NODE_CLIENT: '',
  _: '/usr/local/bin/node' }
USER { UID: 1024, GID: 101 }
filebot-node listening at http://0.0.0.0:5452
filebot-node listening at https://0.0.0.0:5453
However, when opening the application I get:
Image
hshah
Donor
Posts: 44
Joined: 22 Feb 2016, 22:23

Re: FileBot Node doesn't start on DSM 6

Post by hshah »

Did a manual run of the tasks I had set up and it all seems to work fine:

Code: Select all

# created on Sun Mar 06 2016 03:16:16 GMT+0000 (GMT)
Run script [fn:amc] at [Sun Mar 06 03:36:25 GMT 2016]
Parameter: ut_label = tv
Parameter: music = y
Parameter: unsorted = y
Parameter: clean = y
Parameter: deleteAfterExtract = y
Parameter: minFileSize = 100000000
Parameter: seriesFormat = {n}/{episode.special ? "Special" : "Season "+s.pad(2)}/{n} - {episode.special ? "00x"+special.pad(2) : s.pad(2)+"x"+episodes*.episode*.pad(2).join("-")} - {t}
Argument: /volume1/EpisodesTEMP/stag.s01e01.hdtv.x264-tla.mp4
Input: /volume1/EpisodesTEMP/stag.s01e01.hdtv.x264-tla.mp4
Group: [tvs:stag] => [stag.s01e01.hdtv.x264-tla.mp4]
Rename episodes using [TheTVDB]
Auto-detected query: [stag]
Fetching episode data for [Stag]
Fetching episode data for [Stageside Live]
[MOVE] Rename [/volume1/EpisodesTEMP/stag.s01e01.hdtv.x264-tla.mp4] to [/volume1/Episodes/Stag/Season 01/Stag - 01x01 - Episode 1.mp4]
Processed 1 files
Clean clutter files and empty folders
Done ヾ(@⌒ー⌒@)ノ
User avatar
rednoah
The Source
Posts: 18986
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 08:59
Location: Taipei
Contact:

Re: FileBot Node doesn't start on DSM 6

Post by rednoah »

Looks like Synology has changed all the paths. I'll try to support DSM 6 once it's been officially released.

I'm happy to accept pull requests if anybody wants to make DSM 6 support happen themselves. ;)
https://github.com/filebot/filebot-node
:idea: Please read the FAQ and How to Request Help.
hshah
Donor
Posts: 44
Joined: 22 Feb 2016, 22:23

Re: FileBot Node doesn't start on DSM 6

Post by hshah »

The changes to start.sh make it work. It is only the UI that doesn't work, which most people won't care about once their setup is done :)
hshah
Donor
Posts: 44
Joined: 22 Feb 2016, 22:23

Re: FileBot Node doesn't start on DSM 6

Post by hshah »

I may have spoken too soon. For some reason the schedule doesn't do anything, but when I click run manually it works fine. Strange :?
flasher111
Posts: 10
Joined: 14 Feb 2016, 08:09

Re: FileBot Node doesn't start on DSM 6

Post by flasher111 »

for all who have the DSM 6 Beta 1 or Beta 2 installed Filebot Node does not work.
Some path or certificates has been changed. And the authenticate.cgi will not be supportet via Beta1 and2.
I installed DSM 6 RC1 where the authenticate.cgi is supportet. Filebot Node itself works but the gui didn't start.
hshah
Donor
Posts: 44
Joined: 22 Feb 2016, 22:23

Re: FileBot Node doesn't start on DSM 6

Post by hshah »

flasher111 wrote:for all who have the DSM 6 Beta 1 or Beta 2 installed Filebot Node does not work.
Some path or certificates has been changed. And the authenticate.cgi will not be supportet via Beta1 and2.
I installed DSM 6 RC1 where the authenticate.cgi is supportet. Filebot Node itself works but the gui didn't start.
It does work with some of the tweaks mentioned in this thread. Yes the GUI doesn't work and the Task Scheduler fails unless you manually press the Run button but the core functionality is functional :P
hshah
Donor
Posts: 44
Joined: 22 Feb 2016, 22:23

Re: FileBot Node doesn't start on DSM 6

Post by hshah »

I have been tinkering and have made some progress. This is what I have done:

1) Updated the node path in start.sh to:

Code: Select all

/usr/local/bin/node --max_executable_size=16 --use_idle_notification "server/app.js"
2) Updated the paths in start.sh to:

Code: Select all

export FILEBOT_NODE_HTTPS_KEY="/usr/syno/etc/certificate/system/default/privkey.pem"
export FILEBOT_NODE_HTTPS_CRT="/usr/syno/etc/certificate/system/default/cert.pem"
3) Changed Task Schedule to run as Root.

4) In the User Defined Script, specified the full path of filebot.sh:

Code: Select all

/volume1/@appstore/filebot/filebot.sh

I still cannot open Filebot Node, but I do not need it since I have my script built up. My schedule works again and it is picking up files like it was before. As a test I just shoved The Simpsons Season 1 though it :)
Post Reply